Categories: Cricket NewsSL vs IND
| On Jul 5, 2021 10:44 AM IST

Sri Lanka vs India: SLC hits back at Ranatunga by claiming this is not ‘second string’ Indian team


Sri Lankan board hits back at their former world cup winning captain Arjuna Ranatunga’s comments over India not sending their full strength squad to Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka will be hosting India for a limited overs starting with the 50 over format on 13th July. India have sent some fresh faces along with ODI regulars as all format players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant and Mohammad Shami are in England at present.

Though, India will be missing the aforementioned 6 players in the Sri Lankan series, India have managed to assemble a strong squad led by Shikhar that includes Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prithvi Shaw and some fresh faces including Devdutt Padikkal and Rituraj Gaikwad among others.

SLC issues a strong reply to Arjuna Ranatunga

Sri Lanka’s former world cup winning captain lashed out at the Sri Lankan board for agreeing upon to host a second string Indian side to reporters on Friday. Here’s what he had to say about the Indian side.

This is a second-string Indian team and their coming here is an insult on our cricket. I blame the current administration for agreeing to play with them due to television marketing needs. India sent their best team to England and sent a weaker side to play here. I blame our board for that,”

Sri Lanka vs India: Shaw, Padikkal or Ruturaj – Who should open with Shikhar Dhawan?

Sri Lankan cricket board has responded immediately to this baseless claim and brought an end to this unwanted criticism on BCCI. SLC statement read,

“Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that despite claims by various parties as reported in the Media, the National White-Ball team of India currently touring Sri Lanka is a strong squad. Out of the 20-member India squad, 14 players have represented India across all formats or in some form. (Test, ODI, or T20I), and not a ‘second-string team’, as claimed

England vs India: 5 Reasons Virat Kohli should replace Cheteshwar Pujara at No. 3

India squad for ODIs and T20Is

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

ICC confirms T20 World Cup Dates, Venue. Check Details


Taking the life out of me is better than taking cricket from me. Welcome to my world which gives nothing but happening stories in the cricketing world