ICC has suspended Windies coach Stuart Law for the first two ODIs against India and he has been fined 100% of his match fees for the second Test against India at Hyderabad. As a part of the ban, the Windies coach won’t be allowed to share the dressing room with the players.
During the second Test between India and Windies, the visiting batsman Kieran Powell was adjudged caught out by the third umpire. Ajinkya Rahane took Powell’s catch in the slips and the third umpire used several replays to conclude that although the ball was very close to the ground, it didn’t touch the ground and Rahane completed the catch cleanly.
According to ICC, after the match , the Windies coach went to the third umpire’s room and made some inappropriate comments. He also went to the fourth umpire’s area and directed inappropriate comments at the fourth umpire in the presence of the players.
Law’s behaviour was a clear violation of ICC’s code of conduct for players and members of team management. The Level 2 Article 2.7 refrains players from making any “Public criticism of, or inappropriate comment in relation to an incident occurring in an International Match or any Player, Player Support Personnel, Match Official or team participating in any International Match, irrespective of when such criticism or inappropriate comment is made”.
For breaching this code, Law was given three demerit points and was fined 100% of his match fees for the Test.
Law had already earned a demerit point from a previous incident which occurred in May 2017, in the Test against Pakistan.
So now the Windies coach has four demerit points which means he misses either one Test or two ODIs or two T20Is, whichever comes first according to Article 7.6 of the ICC’s code of conduct.
The Windies coach has accepted the charges and sanctions and hence there will be no official hearing on this issue.
The first ODI between India and Windies will be played on October 21.