Categories: Cricket News
February 17, 2019
| On 3 months ago

WI squad for ENG ODIs announced; Brathwaite, Cottrell recalled

By Chaitanya Laxman

Windies Cricket Board has announced the squad for the first two ODIs against England and injuries to few players has forced the management to make some changes. Carlos Brathwaite and Sheldon Cottrell have been recalled to the squad while John Campbell who did well in the Test series has received his maiden ODI call-up.

Brathwaite and Cottrell to boost the bowling strength

Windies have lost pacer bowlers Kemo Paul due to an injury while Shannon Gabriel has been suspended for four matches by ICC. This means the hosts’ bowling strength is weakened and hence the team management has roped in Carlos Brathwaite and Sheldon Cottrell in the team.

Image credits @ Twitter

Cottrell has featured in six ODIs and has claimed eight wickets with an average of 33.62. His accurate left-arm bowling has troubled the batsmen and he is also known for his powerful hitting in the lower order.

Brathwaite too can be handy with the ball as well as bat and he can bring more balance in the playing XI.

Also read: IND squad for AUS ODI and T20I series declared: Bumrah, Kohli return

John Campbell receives maiden ODI call-up

One of the heroes of Windies’ historic Test series win against England was John Campbell. He produced some effective opening partnerships with Kraigg Brathwaite and handled the threat of Anderson and Co.

The team management has rewarded him for his good show in the Test series by offering him a place in the ODI team. The injury to Evin Lewis has opened a slot in the top order and Campbell will fill that spot.

Windies’ squad for first two ODIs against England

The first ODI of the five match series between England and Windies will be played on February 20th.

Jason Holder (capt), Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Oshane Thomas

Chaitanya Laxman