| On Jun 17, 2021 10:08 AM IST

WTC Final: Wasim Jaffer trolls Michael Vaughan on Twitter yet again


Vaughan and Jaffer at it: The anticipation and the excitement around the first ever World Test Championship Final is beyond limit. Plenty of former experts are having their say as to who the favorites are, and have given ample reasons for it.

Former England captain Michael Vaughan has once again had his say by mentioning that it’ New Zealand who will be walking in as firm favorites against India.

Vaughan’s tweet usually leads to a counter argument or even banter from former Indian opening batsman Wasim Jaffer, as this was the case yet again.

“NZ are a high-class team .. Read the situation with the Bat in hand, skillful with the ball & catch brilliantly .. Really fancy them to beat India next week .. #ENGvNZ,” Vaughan tweeted.

Wasim Jaffer gives hilarious reply to Michael Vaughan

However, Wasim Jaffer was quick to disregard the opinion by Vaughan by posting a meme from popular Bollywood movie ‘Welcome’.

The two cricketing experts have often had a thing or two to Tweet, and it has frequently caught the attention of the masses.

The Kiwis recently beat hosts England 1-0 in the two match Test series, and will have wind in their sails ahead of the WTC Final. The first Test ended as a draw, while, the second Test was comfortably conquered by New Zealand with eight wickets to spare.

India, on the other hand, were taking part in an intra-squad Test, as they get set for the big final. The likes of Rishabh Pant, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Siraj displayed some positive performances.

Related Story: Watch Day 3 Highlights for Intra-Squad Test 

WTC Final India Squad

Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed. Shami, Mohammed. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha

New Zealand Squad

Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young

The WTC Final between India and New Zealand will be contested from June 18-22 at the Ageas Bowl Stadium, in Southampton. 

Related Story: Pitch Report on WTC Final

Walli Siddiqui

Talking, articulating, presenting about a sport or a team you love is quite unparalleled, Hence, you can always find me here. P.S. An avid Manchester United fan.