| On Jun 17, 2021 10:07 AM IST

WTC Final: Team India 15-man Squad Announced for final against New Zealand


WTC Final: In a massive recent development, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the final 15-member India squad for the upcoming World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand scheduled to start from 18-22 June in Southampton. India have done some noticeable omissions from their original 20-member squad.

WTC Final: India 15-man Squad

The likes of KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel and Washington Sundar have missed out from the 15-man squad. One of the most noticeable omission seems to be Shardul Thakur who was touted by many former cricketers to be part of the India playing XI as a seam-bowling all-rounder. The 15-member squad has also given proper clarity that the duo of Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will be opening the batting for India in the WTC final against New Zealand.

Related: Official Update on Pitch Report for WTC Final

However, India captain Virat Kohli and the team management still has to make some important decisions with regards to the final playing 11 for the World Test Championship final against New Zealand. The weather conditions in England have changed drastically in the last few days and with rain expected on all five days of the Test match, India is unlikely to play both Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja in the playing XI.

Related: World Test Championship Final Prize Money Announced

Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj are the five fast bowlers in the 15-man squad and the team could go with four of them in the final XI.

India 15-man squad

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha. 

Related: New Zealand 15-man Squad Announced for WTC Final

India vs New Zealand

Earlier in the day, New Zealand had also announced their 15-member squad for the WTC Final against India as they left out Mitchell Santner, Daryl Mitchell, Jacob Duffy, Doug Bracewell and Rachin Ravindra from the team that played the two-match Test series against England. New Zealand is quite confident that their injured duo comprising of skipper Kane Williamson and wicket-keeper BJ Watling will recover in time for the summit clash from 18-22 June in Southampton.

For more WTC Final news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.