Categories: Cricket News
| On Aug 24, 2021 7:56 PM IST

India Women vs Australia Women: India announce squad for one-off Test, ODI, and T20I series


The squads for Indian women team has been announced that will tour Australia to play 1 Test, 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. The women team toured England earlier this year, which was the first abroad tour after the lockdown was imposed in India last year. After drawing the test match, the Indian team lost the ODI and T20I series. The team looked out of touch due to limited match practice before the series. But a lot of players like Smriti Mandhana, Jemmimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Harmanpreet Kaur, and Deepti Sharma have now participated in The Hundred and would look to perform well for the team against Australia.

India Women Squad for Australia series

The test and ODI team will led by Mithali Raj, while Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the T20I team. The Indian women team will play their first-ever day-night test match at Perth. The spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad has made a comeback into the test squad, while Sneh Rana after being impressive against England in her debut series has been included for all-formats.

One-off Test & ODI series: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Yastika Bhatia, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Richa Ghosh, Ekta Bisht.

Read: Ashwin to play 3rd Test? Indian captain Virat Kohli gives an update

There are 2 new additions to the T20I squad, Renuka Singh Thakur and Yastika Bhatia.

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Yastika Bhatia, Shikha Pandey, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Harleen Deol, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Renuka Singh Thakur.

When will Indian team depart to Australia?

It has been learnt that the core members of the women team is currently undergoing a training camp in National Cricket Academy, Bengaluru. The team is expected to take a flight on August 29-30 and then have to enter a 14-day quarantine.

Read: BAN vs NZ: Finn Allen COVID Positive Ahead of the Series. Check Details

The 1st ODI is scheduled to start from September 19, with one-off Test match to be played from September 30, and then the series getting concluded on 11 October, with the final T20I.