Sunrisers Hyderabad

flag India
Ground: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
Captain: David Warner
Coach: Tom Moody
Owner: SUN TV Network
team stats

The perennial dark horses of the IPL, Sunrisers Hyderabad have managed to punch above their weight on a plethora of occasions.

The Telnagana based franchise is the second team to come out of Hyderabad replacing Deccan Chargers, who were terminated by the IPL in 2012. Sunrisers Hyderabad made their IPL debut in 2013 and under Sangakkara and Cameron White, who captained the franchise for the latter part of the tournament, fared well and made it to the playoffs.

Following indifferent performances in the next two seasons, David Warner was handed over the captaincy in 2015. While they finished sixth, Warner was able to forge a core that included Shikhar Dhawan, ace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Vijay Shankar and he himself. Warner (orange cap in IPL 2016) led from the front in the 2016 season and along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar (purple cap holder in IPL 2016) took his team all the way to the finals where they beat RCB to win the maiden title for the franchise.

While, Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were retained by the franchise ahead of the 2018 IPL auctions, Shikhar Dhawan, Rashid Khan, and Hooda were added via RTM.

Upcoming matches