Categories: Cricket News
November 14, 2018
| On 5 months ago

2018 Mzansi Super League: Squads

By Dheeraj Singh

Mzansi Super League 2018

The inaugural edition of the Mzansi Super League 2018 is slated to kick start from November 16 to December 16. The tournament will feature six city-based franchises – Durban Heat, Jozi Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, Cape Town Blitz, Paarl Rocks and Tshwane Spartans. Each team will face every other team twice in a double round-robin fashion which will be followed by an eliminator and final scheduled to take place on December 16, Sunday. The top three after the league stage will qualify for the playoffs. The second and third-placed sides will lock horns in an eliminator while the table topper will directly go into finals.

The Mzansi Super League 2018 consist of 32 T20 fixtures, which are scheduled to be played across six different venues. The venue for eliminator and final are yet to be decided. So, let’s have a look at the full squad of all the six teams taking part in the tournament-

Cape Town Blitz

Skipper: Farhaan Behardien

Head Coach: Ashwell Prince

Quinton de Kock, Samuel Badree, Dawid Malan, Sibonelo Makhanya, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn,  Asif Ali, Anrich Nortje, Malusi Siboto, George Linde, Ferisco Adams, Jason Smith, Kyle Verreynne, Janneman Malan, Dane Piedt.


Durban Heat

Skipper: Albie Morkel

Head Coach: Grant Morgan

Marchant de Lange, Hashim Amla, Okuhle Cele, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Abbott, Rashid Khan, Keshav Maharaj, Khaya Zondo, Vernon Philander, Brandon Mavuta, Morne van Wyk, Sarel Erwee, Tladi Bokako

Jozi Stars

Skipper: Dane Vilas

Head Coach: Enoch Nkwe

Kagiso Rabada, Calvin Savage, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Ryan Rickelton, Daniel Christian, Chris Gayle, Beuran Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius, Eddie Leie, Petrus van Biljon, Duanne Olivier, Sinethemba Qeshile, Simon Harmer, Shimane Alfred Mothoa

Read On: MI And SRH Troll Each Other

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants

Skipper: JJ Smuts

Head Coach: Eric Simons

Imran Tahir, Ben Duckett, Jason Roy, Chris Morris, Junior Dala,  Aaron Phangiso,  Sisanda Magala, Christiaan Jonker,Ryan McLaren, Heino Kuhn, Marco Marais, Dyllan Matthews, Lizaad Williams,  Rudi Second, Carmi le Roux

Paarl Rocks

Skipper: Faf du Plessis

Head Coach: Adrian Birrell

David Wiese, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dwayne Bravo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dane Paterson, Aiden Markram, Bjorn Fortuin, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Michael Klinger, Tshepo Moreki, Henry Davids, Eathan Bosch, Patrick Kruger, Grant Thomson, Kerwin Mungroo

Read on: ICC T20I Rankings

Tshwane Spartans

Skipper: AB de Villiers

Head Coach: Mark Boucher

Jeevan Mendis, Eoin Morgan, Lungi Ngidi, Sikandar Raza, Robbie Frylinck,  Sean Williams, Gihahn Cloete, Rory Kleinveldt, Lutho Sipamla, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Andrew Birch, Shaun von Berg, Theunis de Bruyn, Eldred Hawken

Dheeraj Singh

It might be a just another game for you, but for me, Cricket is something which I live for. From following cricket teams to keeping an eye on every new update in the cricketing world, I try to deliver the best and true I can in my every writing.