Categories: Cricket News
February 14, 2019
| On 3 months ago

Johnson Charles replaces Nicholas Pooran in PSL for Multan

By Chaitanya Laxman

Multan Sultans have roped in Windies opening batsman Johnson Charles as a replacement for Nicholas Pooran in the Pakistan Super League. Pooran had to leave the tournament as he has been selected in Windies’ ODI team for the series against England.

Charles in, Pooran out

Nicholas Pooran has featured in 92 T20 games and has scored 1694 runs at an average of 22.89. His strike rate of 144.91 is impressive and he has scored eight fifties as well.

On the other hand, Charles has been a part of two T20 World Cup winning teams and has played 135 T20s. His strike rate is 125.28 and he has accumulated 3107 runs with one hundred and 18 fifties.

Can’t wait to be a part of PSL: Charles

The Windies batsman said that their squad at Multan Sultans is fairly balanced and he is confident that they can do well this year.

Personally speaking, Charles said that he is really looking forward to sharing the dressing room with guys like Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi. He noted that they have played so much cricket and he is sure they will have great things to share with him and with the rest of their squad as well.

Image credits @ Twitter

He noted that he has heard so many good things about HBL PSL and he can’t wait to be a part of this Pakistani cricket festival.

Multan Sultans’ squad for PSL

The Multan team boasts of plenty of T20 superstars including Shahid Afridi, Andre Russell and Shoaib Malik. The team also has a strong pace attack comprising of Junaid Khan and Mohammad Irfan.

Charles’ presence at the top will surely strengthen Multan’s batting line-up and the fact that he can keep wickets makes him a crucial addition for the team.

Multan’s squad-

Shoaib Malik(c), Andre Russell, James Vince, Laurie Evans, Daniel Christian, Tom Moores, Shan Masood, Umar Siddiq, Muhammad Junaid, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas , Shahid Afridi, Nicholas Pooran, Qais Ahmad, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Ilyas, Nauman Ali,  Ali Shafiq, Shakeel Ansar, Hammad Azam

Chaitanya Laxman