Categories: Cricket News
March 17, 2019
| On 2 months ago

Markram, Nortje in SA’s squad for SL T20Is

By Chaitanya Laxman

South Africa have announced their squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka. The squad features opening batsman Aiden Markram, fast bowler Anrich Nortje while Faf du Plesis will lead the side in the first T20I and JP Duminy will be the captain for the remaining two games.

Sinethemba Qeshile , Nortje in T20I squad

Pace bowler Anrich Nortje impressed everyone with his express pace in the Mzansi Super League and was equally good in the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Courtesy of this performance, he has been named in the T20I squad along with wicket-keeper batsman Sinethemba Qeshile.

Linda Zondi, Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) national selection panel convener stated that Sinethemba Qeshile has had an outstanding rookie season of franchise cricket and is certainly one of the form batsmen in franchise cricket at the moment.

Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, Rabada and Ngidi rested for 2nd and 3rd T20I

At the same time South Africa will be resting their core players for the 2nd and 3rd T20I. Zondi explained that the first match forms part of their vision 2019 to continue exploring their options for the ICC Men’s World Cup and he noted that the squad for that match consists largely of the squads that have been doing duty in the Momentum ODI Series against Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

He noted that they would have liked to include Hashim Amla but unfortunately he remains unavailable because of his family situation.

South Africa’s squad for Sri Lanka T20I series

Sri Lanka won the Test series while South Africa defeated the visitors 5-0 in the ODI series. The T20I series will start from March 19.

Also read: Watch: Yuvraj Singh starts training at Mumbai Indians with a first ball six

South Africa squad for 1st T20I: Faf du Plessis (capt), Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen

South Africa squad for 2nd and 3rd T20Is: JP Duminy (capt), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Sinethemba Qeshile (wk), Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen

Chaitanya Laxman