World Test Championship
| On Jul 28, 2021 10:42 AM IST

World Test Championship Points Table


World Test Championship Points Table: The World Test Championship has been a two year process, and has also endorsed the longest format of the game to a positive degree. Test Matches in the past were all about winning a series and taking home the bragging rights. However, the introduction of the idea and implantation of the World Test Championship has led to one common dream  of going the distance and winning the title after fairly beating major Test playing nations.

World Test Championship Points

In this case, it’s India and New Zealand that will be locking horns in the much anticipated finals. To make it to the finals and cement a top spot in the WTC points table, let us take a look at the journey of Virat Kohli led Indian cricket team.

August 2019: West Indies vs India (Series Result: 0-2)

India’s WTC campaign started off in the Caribbean Islands for a two-match Test Series against the West Indies. The visitors were touted as the favorites heading into the series, and stood by it as they registered a comfortable win in both game. The first match ended with India winning by 318 run, while, the second ended with a 257 run win for the Indians.

October 2019: India vs South Africa (Series Result: 2-0)

Two months after the tour to the West Indies, India play hosts to South Africa in the three-match Test series. The Indian team displayed utter dominance with bat and ball, as they ended up white washing the Proteas 3-0 at home.

November 2019: India v Bangladesh (Series Result: India 2-0)

Team India then hosted neighbor’s Bangladesh next, which also included their first ever Day-Night Test at home. The Indians were too hot to handle for the Bangla Tigers, as they secured a 2-0 win.

February 2020: New Zealand vs India (Series Result: 2-0)

This is where the India faced their first speed bump as Kane Williamson and his men secured  a 2-0 win. The Indians haven’t had the best of times against New Zealand in recent times, but now have the chance to redeem themselves in the WTC Final.

December-January 2020-21: Australia vs India (Series Result: 1-2)

Although Team India did manage to impress the last time they toured Australia to win the series 2-1, the odds were against them this time around as captain Virat Kohli had to head back home for the birth of his child after the first Test. The Indian team suffered a humiliating defeat in the first Test, and it seemed like the Aussies will have a field day in the remaining Tests. The Indian team also kept losing first team players due to injuries. But in spite of the adversities, Team India under the leadership of Ajinkya Rahane, did the unthinkable to win the series 1-2. India’s triumph down under earlier this year, truly made them a contender to lift the World Test Championship title.

February-March 2021: (Series Result: 3-1)

The four match Test series was much talked about by fan and former cricketers as a result of the nature of the Indian wickets. Although, England did manage to secure a win in the first Test, the Indian cricket team bounced back in grand manner by winning three games on the bounce, courtesy the brilliance of Ravi Ashwin and Axar Patel.

Talking about their counterparts for the WTC Final, New Zealand also had some terrific results in their favor which now places them at the top of the ICC Test Teams Ranking.

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand (Series Result: 1-1)

The Lankans defeated New Zealand in the first Test, but Kane Williamson and his men displayed resilience in the second Test. The Kiwis thumped Sri Lanka by an innings and 65 runs in the final Test.

Australia vs New Zealand (Series Result: 3-0)

New Zealand were completely outclassed by hosts Australia as they beat them 3-0 with utmost comfort.

New Zealand vs India (Series Result: 2-0)

This is where the Kiwis displayed their brilliance as they beat a quality Indian team to win the series at home by 2-0. The first Test was comfortably won by 10 wickets, whereas, the second Test did have a few challenging moments, but New Zealand ended up securing a win by 7 wickets by the end of it. Kane Williamson and his men will be keen on taking inspiration from that home series win in the WTC Finals.

New Zealand vs West Indies (Series Result: 2-0)

New Zealand were touted as the firm favorites to win the series against an inexperienced West Indies unit and they did ended up winning it comfortably by 2-0.

New Zealand vs Pakistan (Series Result: 2-0)

The Kiwis carried on their terrific run of form and beat Pakistan 2-0 at home. Noteworthy performances from the captain Kane Williamson and Daryl Mitchell were the talking points of the series.

England vs New Zealand (Series Result: 0-1)

The most recent Test series win over hosts England right before the much anticipated World Test Championship Finals was a welcome one for New Zealand. The first match of the two match Test series ended as a draw, but Devon Conway’s sublime double hundred at Lord’s was further encouraging signs for the visitors. In the second Test, in spite of players such as Kane Williamon, Tim outhee, BJ Watling, Collin de Grandhomme being given a rest, New Zealand ended up comfortably beating England by seven wickets.

World Test Championship Points Table

The recent series win is the reasons why New Zealand have now gone onto the top of the ICC Test rankings in place of India. With the number one ranked team in the ICC Test ranking, and the number one ranked team in the WTC Points table, we can expect the upcoming final to be cracker of an affair.

The final between India and New Zealand is scheduled from June 18-22 at the Ageas Bowl Stadium, in Southampton. The match starts at 3:00 PM (IST). It will be broadcasted on the Star Sports Network, and can be live streamed on Disney + Hotstar as well.

India Squad

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Chesteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Umesh Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Wriddhiman Saha

New Zealand Squad

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

Click for World Test Championship News

Walli Siddiqui

Talking, articulating, presenting about a sport or a team you love is quite unparalleled, Hence, you can always find me here. P.S. An avid Manchester United fan.