2 uncapped players in AUS squad for first 2 Tests versus IND

Updated on: Nov 22, 2018 2:31 pm IST

Cricket Australia has announced the 14-member squad for the first two Tests against India. Usman Khwaja who was injured during the series against Pakistan returns and Peter Handscomb has been recalled as well. Interestingly, the team management has given chance to two uncapped players, Marcus Harris and Chris Tremain.

Harris rewarded for good show in domestic cricket

Harris is a prolific run-scorer in the 2018-19 Sheffield Shield and has amassed 437 runs at an whopping average of 87.40. On the other hand, Tremain is known for his pace bowling and has the capability to hit the deck hard. He has featured in seven ODIs so far and has 200 first-class wickets.

National selector Trevor Hohns said that Marcus Harris has forced his way into the squad after an impressive start to the Sheffield Shield campaign for Victoria, and in recent times has performed in high pressure matches, including Sheffield Shield finals.

He explained that Harris has not only made plenty of runs, he has also displayed the mental application which they believe is required to compete at Test cricket.


Khwaja returns, Labuschagne dropped

Khwaja who batted beautifully against Pakistan is also back in the squad after recovering from injury. However he will play a first-class match before the Test series to prove his fitness.

Handscomb who started his Test career with a bang but failed to maintain consistency has been recalled to strengthen the middle-order.

At the same time, the Australian team management has decided to drop Matt Renshaw, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Jon Holland and Brendan Doggett from the squad.


AUS to declare 12-member team one day before the Test begins

Hohns revealed that they will select a final team of 12 prior to each Test, and the two remaining squad members will be released to get important match time in the Sheffield Shield.

Also read: Dropping this player costed India 20 runs: Manjrekar 

He believes that all players chosen deserve their selection in the squad, and they are confident given the opportunity all will apply themselves well against India.

The first Test will start from December 06.

Australia’s squad: Tim Paine (c,wk), Mitch Marsh (vc), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Aaron Finch, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris,  Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon,  Shaun Marsh,  Mitchell Starc, Chris Tremain, Peter Siddle.



Previous Article
Next Article