Categories: Cricket News
| On Updated : Aug 10, 2020 4:22 PM IST

Aakash Chopra picks All-time Kings XI Punjab XI, no place for Shami

Former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra has picked the All-time Kings XI Punjab XI this time. The reputed commentator and analyst has chosen Mahela Jayawardene as the captain of his side. Meanwhile, prominent names like Irfan Pathan, Glenn Maxwell, Kumar Sangakkara, and Mohammad Shami failed to make the cut.

Who made it to the Aakash Chopra's all-time KXIP 11?

While choosing the team, Chopra kept the players' position in mind alongside only 4 foreigners made it to the XI. For the opening slot, Chopra picked up the dynamic opening duo of Chris Gayle and KL Rahul despite not playing much for the franchise. He also named Rahul the wicketkeeper of the side.

I will start with Chris Gayle. He had an unbelievable first season along with KL Rahul. Perhaps the most explosive opening combination. We have to pick KL Rahul, What an acquisition.

Chopra picked Shaun Marsh as the number 3 batsman in the side, and Mahela Jayawardene got picked at the number 4. Chopra also named Jayawardene the skipper of the side.

Everyone will keep Shaun Marsh in their team. I will keep Mahela Jayawardene at No.4. Because he is a terrific batsman and is a very clever T20 player. I will make him the captain. He was one of the finest captains you will ever come across who knows the strengths of his players and knows how to get the best out of them.

David Miller occupied the 4th and the final overseas spot in the KXIP side. Meanwhile, Yuvraj Singh

edged out Irfan Pathan in the XI due to his superior batting skills.

David Miller completes my four overseas players. At No.6, I am going with Yuvraj Singh, he did not have extraordinary numbers but he is a proven match-winner

Which bowlers made it to the Aakash Chopra's all-time KXIP 11?

Aakash selected 3 spinners and 2 pacers in his all-Indian bowling set-up of all-time KXIP 11. Aakash went with Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Piyush Chawla in the spin bowling department.

I have gone with Piyush Chawla. He played at the beginning with KXIP and did very well. At No.8, I have Axar Patel. At No. 9, I am keeping Ravichandran Ashwin because as a batsman in T20 cricket he has not set the stage on fire.

In the pace bowling department, Aakash Chopra picked Praveen Kumar ahead of Mohammad Shami due to the expensive economy rate of the latter. Sandeep Sharma made it to the 11 as the 2nd seamer in the side.

Praveen Kumar is in my side. Sandeep Sharma, who is currently with SRH, but used to be with KXIP and came to prominence from there is also in my side.

Aakash Chopra's all-time Kings XI Punjab XI

Chris Gayle
KL Rahul (WK)
Shaun Marsh
Mahela Jayawardene (C)
David Miller
Yuvraj Singh
Piyush Chawla
Axar Patel
Ravichandran Ashwin
Praveen Kumar
Sandeep Sharma

Vishal Rathi @sportzbaba

Vishal Rathi is a sports enthusiast who has left his corporate job to follow his passion for writing about sports. He is an expert in writing about multiple realms of sports space including Cricket, Football, Kabaddi, Tennis, and Pro-Wrestling. Vishal is an able sportsperson himself and can play multiple sports including Cricket, Football, Kabaddi, Badminton, Table-Tennis, and Chess. Vishal is a die-hard fan of Manchester United, and he Idolizes Cristiano Ronaldo.