Categories: Cricket News
| On Updated : Jan 11, 2021 12:06 PM IST

AB de Villiers set to return to cricket on June 27, announces Cricket South Africa

AB de Villiers is one of the best batsmen of this generation. He retired recently from international cricket citing he was ‘tired' but fans are all still hopeful about the legendary player's comeback opportunity for his national side. Some of them were eager to have him back in the Proteas setup for the scheduled World T20 but that event in all likelihood will be postponed. The swashbuckling middle order batsman still continues to ply his trade at domestic competitions across the globe and was last seen in action during the Big Bash league in Australia.

Much awaited return to cricket

The Royal Challengers Bengaluru superstar would have been part of the IPL had the tournament went on in the Indian summer but due to the current corona situation it still stands postponed indefinitely. But there’s good news coming out from the African nation that cricket is set to resume although in the form of a exhibition match for charity purposes. Ab de Villiers will be seen along with other leading South African cricketers on Saturday the 27th June.

What has been the biggest highlight of India's tour of Australia 2020-21?

New format and New Rules

With the big announcement dropping in by the Official CSA Cricket South Africa board, we have learnt about the new format and new rules with which the game will be played.

Each match consists of 3 teams of 8 players each. Here are some of the rules for the tournament.

1. The 36-over match is divided into two parts of 18 overs each. There is also a half time refreshment break.

2. Each innings for a team will last for 12 overs. The two of the opposition teams will bowl 6 overs each to the batting team that will constitue to 12 overs.

3. There will be draw that will decide the starting positions of the teams. The three teams will rotate between batting bowling and dugout accordingly.

4. The order of the score in descending order determines the team that will bat first in the second half.

The teams are as follows:

AB’s Eagles: AB de Villiers (c), Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Kyle Verreynne, Sisanda Magala

Quinny’s Kites: Quinton de Kock (c), David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Anrich Nortje, Dwayne Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Lutho Sipamla

KG’s Kingfishers: Kagiso Rabada (c), Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenton Stuurman

Balaji @deep_extracover

Taking the life out of me is better than taking cricket from me. Welcome to my world which gives nothing but happening stories in the cricketing world