AUS vs ENG 3rd Test Ashes: Australia makes a bold change in openers

Updated on: Aug 22, 2019 1:45 pm IST

  • For the third Ashes test, Australia has once again indicated a change in the playing XI, this time for the team struggling opener Cameron Bancroft. Cameron is expected to be replaced by Victorian Marcus Harris, the Sheffield Shield’s leading run-scorer in 2018.

    Australian cricket team has already made changes twice for the 3rd test, firstly in the form of Marnus Labuschagne who has been included in the place of injured Steve Smith. Marnus is set to perform in the Playing XI of the next test as Smith continues to recover from the concussion caused by England fast bowler Jofra Archer in the second test.

    James Pattinson, another fast bowler of the Australian team who missed out the Lord’s test is ready to come back this time, most probably in the place of Peter Siddle.

    Also, read: IND-vs-WI-1st-Test-today-match-prediction-and-betting-odds-India-vs-West-Indies/

    Harris likely to open in the 3rd Ashes 

    Marcus Harris was the leading run-scorer in 2018 Sheffield Shield tournament. He smashed 1,188 runs for the Victoria which also includes the match-winning score of 141 in the Final.

    In October 2018, while playing the Test against India and Sri Lanka, he hit 327 runs in six matches and concluded 1,515 runs for his first-class cricket alongwith the highest score of unbeaten 250 runs against NSW at the MCG.

    Dull opening for Australian in Ashes 2019

    The team openers Bancroft and Warner have not been able to pull off a great start for the team till now. So far in eight innings, they have managed to score only 62 runs between them which clearly put both the batsman in the spotlight.

    Former Australian captain, Ricky Ponting has also shown concern for the poor performance given by the openers. So, therefore the decision has been made from the selector’s side, now weather these changes will pay off, it remains a big question. Australia complete Playing XI is yet to be finalized and the final eleven will not be disclosed until the toss in Headingley, Leeds.

    Previous Article
    Next Article