Australia T20 World Cup Squad Player List

Published on: Sep 1, 2022 12:03 pm IST|Updated on: Sep 1, 2022 12:03 pm IST

Australia T20 World Cup Squad Player List

Defending Champions Australia are all set to retain the tag of T20 champions as they announced their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 on home soil. The tournament begins on Sunday, October 16 as teams across the globe gather for the rights to be called World Champions.

Australia T20 World Cup Squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

While the Australian squad does not have too many changes from the T20 World Cup win in 2021 in UAE, two selections have raised eyebrows. Firstly, Tim David who previously represented Singapore will make his first World Cup appearance with Australia after switching alliances.

Mitchell Swepson is another big name, however he won’t be part of the team as he has been dropped in favour of Adam Zampa. Aaron Finch continues to lead the side, while the batting duties will lie on the shoulders of David Warner and Matthew Wade. Warner was the second-highest run-scorer in the 2021 T20 World Cup with 289 runs, with only Babar Azam (303 ) scoring more runs.

The squad has multiple all-rounders including Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Steve Smith and Mitchell Marsh. The formulae has been successful for the side in recent times as players have contributed with both bat and ball.

Wicketkeeper batter Matthew Wade was the hero of the semifinal win against Pakistan last year and had a great Big Bash League (BBL) season. Mitchell Marsh will be another important member of the squad after excelling in the final that earned him the ‘Player of the Match’ award in the final against New Zealand.

Adam Zampa is once again the ace bowler for the Aussies having scalped 13 wickets in the 2021 edition and was the second-highest wicket-taker after Wanindu Hasaranga with 16 wickets. Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Starc will once again be the chief architects of the team with the new ball. Josh Hazlewood scalped nine wickets last year and will be once again a key member of the squad.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article