Categories: Cricket News
February 2, 2019
| On 6 months ago

Blow to SA; Star batsman ruled out of PAK T20Is

By Chaitanya Laxman

The South Africa team has received a major blow for the T20I series against Pakistan as opening batsman and wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock has been ruled out of the entire series courtesy of a groin injury. The team management has roped in Cape Cobras wicketkeeper Janneman Malan as a replacement for the left-hand batsman.

de Kock to miss PAK T20Is, may return for SL series

Dr Mohammed Moosajee, team manager of South Africa team stated that Quinton de Kock sustained an injury to his left groin while fielding during the last ODI on Wednesday.

He revealed that the wicket-keeper batsman will be unable to take part in the T20I series against Pakistan and the team management is hopeful that he will be fit for selection for the Test series against Sri Lanka starting in Durban on February 13.

Janneman Malan to replace de Kock for Pakistan series

The hosts have added Malan in the squad as a replacement for the left-hand batsman. Linda Zondi, the Selection Convener noted that Janneman was one of the standout players during the Mzansi Super League and has been putting in the runs consistently at franchise level.

He feels that Malan is an exciting young prospect, this is a great opportunity for the team to continue blooding players at international level.

The wicket-keeper batsman had an impressive season in the Mzansi Super League. He scored 305 runs in the tournament and was an essential cog of the Cape Town Blitz team which reached the finals of the tournament.

Also read: NZ vs IND 5th ODI: 3 players to watch

South Africa’s squad for Pakistan series

South Africa will be playing three T20Is against Pakistan. The hosts have already won the Test and the ODI series.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Janneman Malan, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen.

Chaitanya Laxman