Cricket News
| On Jan 19, 2022 11:15 AM IST

Border Gavaskar Trophy Winners List


Border Gavaskar Trophy Winners List It’s fair to say that India vs Australia Tests have been one of the most competitive Test series. Named after the greats, Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border, the series has seen many records being broken and created.

Border Gavaskar Trophy Winners List

Let’s look at series results of IND vs AUS Tests over the years

Year Winners Host Country
1996-97 India India
1997-98 India India
1999-00 Australia Australia
2001 India India
2003-04 Draw Australia
2004 Australia Australia
2007-08 Australia Australia
2008 India India
2010 India India
2011-12 Australia Australia
2013 India India
2014-15 Australia Australia
2017 India India
2019-18 India Australia
2020-21 India Australia

The inaugural border gavaskar trophy was played during 1996-97 in India. The home side at that time was led by Mohammad Azharuddin and he didn’t disappoint as he led India to a victory, in what was a one-off Test. Nayan Mongia shined with the bat for hosts, scoring 152 runs while Anil Kumble took 9 wickets in India’s win.

The 1997-98 border gavaskar trophy was played in India and hosts won the three-Test series by the margin of 2-1. The Mark Taylor-led side managed one win in the series but it wasn’t enough as Sachin Tendulkar and Anil Kumble shined with bat and ball respectively to help their side win.

Related Lowest total in test

In 1999-00 border gavaskar trophy, Sachin Tendulkar-led India toured to Australia for three-match Test series but it was a horrendous tour for them as they suffered a 3-0 drubbing. Ricky Ponting, who was Australia’s captain that time, led from the front and Glenn McGrath shined with the ball as the visitors pounded the hosts.

The 2001 border gavaskar trophy series might well be alive in the minds of many Indian fans. The series insisted on a fearless attitude in the Indian team. The Sourav Ganguly-led side after losing the first Test came back strongly to win the series 2-1. Harbhajan Singh was the main architect behind India’s win as he took 31 wickets in three matches.

Indian Team scripted a famous draw in border gavaskar trophy 2003-04 in Australia. The Sourav Ganguly-led side put in a valiant effort as the series ended in a draw 1-1.

Team India in the later half of 2004 against toured Australia for border gavaskar trophy but this time they were at the receiving end of 2-1 thumping at the hand of hosts. Damien Martin and Jason Gillespie shined with bat and ball respectively for their side to win the series.

Related: Fastest 400 wickets in Test 

Australia then emerged victorious in the border gavaskar trophy 2007-08 by the margin of 2-1. However, in the later half of 2008, India defeated Aussies at home by 2-0 to win the trophy.

MS Dhoni in 2010 led Team India to border gavaskar trophy win by the margin of 2-0 at home but later when in 2011–12 they toured down under for the series. They were at the receiving end of 4-0 drubbing at the hands of the Australian team.

Murli Vijay and R Ashwin helped MS Dhoni-led side win the border gavaskar trophy in 2013 as they thumped Australia 4-0 at home. But later in 2014-15, they lost the series in Australia under the leadership of Ms Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

India’s hattrick of wins in India vs Australia Test series since 2017

In 2017, Indian yet again claimed the border gavaskar trophy as they defeated Steve Smith-led side by the margin of 2-1. The Virat Kohli-led then side created history in 2018-19 when they toured Australia as they registered first-ever Test series win down under by winning the series 2-1.

In the 2020-21, India yet against created history as they despite being battered and bruised clinched the series by the margin of 2-1. Wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant was the main reason for India’s win as they also defeated the hosts in the fortress Gabba.

Related: Highest opening partnership in test

Ankit Jit Singh

Dream was to play cricket, but job is to serve cricket