Captain with Highest Winning Percentage in T20I since 2020

Updated on: Sep 5, 2022 10:47 am IST

  • Captain with Highest Winning Percentage in T20I

    The world of cricket has been blessed with some of the best captains in recent times. Whether it may be the likes of Virat Kohli or Kane Williamson, they have proved their worth in various forms of the game.

    Best win percentage in T20I

    When it comes to the shortest format of the game, names that can’t go missing include Babaar Azam and Rohit Sharma who have impeccable records.

    Captain Matches Won Lost No Result Win Percentage
    Rohit Sharma 19 17 2 0 89.47
    Mitchell Santner 10 8 1 1 80.00
    Temba Bavuma 17 12 5 0 70.59
    Virat Kohli 20 14 5 1 70.00
    Babar Azam 40 27 9 4 67.50
    Eoin Morgan 29 19 9 1 65.52

    While there have been lot of changes in the game of cricket since the Covid-19 outbreak in 2020, the big names have still delivered. Here is a look at the best captains since the calendar year 2020 in T20Is.

    1. Rohit Sharma

    No other captain has been as successful as Rohit Sharma, the current India captain has won 17 off his 19 T20I matches and has a win percentage of 89.47 making him one of the best in the business. His presence could well deliver India its first T20 World Cup since 2007, if he continues his winning run.

    2. Mitchell Santner

    Mitchell Santner has been a part-timer for the New Zealand cricket side, but has impressed whenever given the opportunity to lead the side. He has won eight of the 10 matches in charge and has a win percent rate of 80, while winning his last seven matches.

    3. Temba Bavuma

    The South Africa skipper has also had an impressive spell since taking charge of the team. Bavuma has won 12 of the 17 matches when he has taken charge of the team. This accounts to a total of 70.59 percent, this makes him one of the consistent captains in the present era.

    4. Virat Kohli

    The former India captain may have failed to deliver an ICC trophy in his tenure as captain but there is no denying how influential he was with his captaincy record. Virat Kohli won 14 of his 20 T20I matches in charge while leading the Men in Blue. Virat was last seen captaining the Indian side in the 2021 T20 World Cup and won four matches in a row.

    5. Babar Azam

    No other player has taken charge of a particular T20I side on more occasions than Babar Azam. The current Pakistan captain has taken charge of 40 matches winning 27 of those, as he accounts to a win percentage of 67.50.

    6. Eoin Morgan

    Eoin  Morgan recently announced his retirement from the game, but will forever go down as a legend of the game. Before hanging his boots, Morgan managed to 19 of the 29 matches in the shortest format of the game since 2020, accounting a win percent tally of 65.52.


    Related Top 5 Batsmen with Most Runs in T20I

    Previous Article
    Next Article