March 27, 2019
| On 4 months ago

DC vs CSK IPL 2019: Bravo, Watson sink Delhi

By Chaitanya Laxman

An incisive death-bowling spell by Dwayne Bravo and an audacious batting display by Shane Watson enabled CSK to maul DC at Feroz Shah Kotla ground on Tuesday. Watson was named the man of the man for scoring 44 brisk runs off just 26 balls and setting up the win for Chennai.

Delhi’s cautious start

Shreyas Iyer won the toss and elected to bat on a slow and difficult to bat wicket. Delhi openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan played with caution and added 36 for the first wicket as Shaw perished in the fifth over.

Iyer too failed to make a significant impact in his second consecutive match and was trapped LBW by Tahir in the 12th over.

Pant who was promoted ahead of Ingram continued from where he left in the previous game. The left-hand batsman produced quick boundaries and provided the much needed acceleration to Delhi’s innings.

Bravo derails Delhi with three wickets

Just when Pant looked set for a big score, Bravo stepped up to deliver the decisive blow.  On the second ball of the 16th over, Bravo sent back Pant which proved to be the most critical moment of the match and one ball later dismissed Collin Ingram, Delhi’s finisher for just two runs.

With two wickets in three balls that too of crucial batsmen, Bravo had wrecked Delhi’s middle-order but he wasn’t done yet. On the first ball of his next over he got the better of Shikhar Dhawan who until that point had played extremely well to carry Delhi’s innings.

Dhawan scored 51 runs off 47 balls and was the lone figther in Delhi’s batting line-up.

Delhi managed to score 147 runs off their 20 overs.

Watson sets the game for Chennai

Chasing 148 runs, Shane Watson provided the ideal start for Chennai and kept the run-rate above ten. His quickfire 44 runs off 26 balls brought the required run-rate below six and sucked out Delhi’s hopes of staging a comeback.

After Watson’s departure, Raina, Jadhav and Dhoni batted with caution and took Chennai home in the 20th over.

Chaitanya Laxman