England star signs T10 deal with Knights

Updated on: Nov 28, 2018 11:28 am IST

  • England wicket-keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow is set to play for Knights in the T10 league which is being played in the UAE. The league already includes some big names from international cricket and Bairstow’s inclusion is the latest addition in this list.


    Bairstow to join England captain Eoin Morgan and Windies superstars

    The right-hand batsman has signed a deal with Knights who were earlier known as ‘Kerala Kings’ and were the inaugural champions as well.

    The team already includes Eoin Morgan who is England’s captain in the white-ball format and the Windies superstars Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard. Bairstow’s team-mate Tom Curran is also a part of the Knights’ squad.

    Image credits @ Getty Images


    Bairstow makes a sensational comeback  

    The England cricketer was out of action for sometime thanks to an injury and hence missed the two Tests against Sri Lanka. But he made a sensational comeback in the third Test where he scored a composed hundred to guide England to their third win in the Test series. Bairstow was even named the man-of-the-match award for his effort.

    The right-hand batsman has been one of the most prolific run-getters in Test cricket in the recent times and his contributions in the middle-order have enabled England to dominate several Tests. Interestingly,the England batsman has reaped the same rewards in ODI format despite opening the innings, a position he doesn’t generally play at.

    He enjoys a healthy strike-rate of 126.45 in T20 cricket and has scored 1649 runs in 96 T20 games.


    Bairstow’s short stint at the T10 league 

    Also read: Kohli on the cusp of becoming India’s highest-earning athlete 

    England team is set to return to UK after completing the Test series while Bairstow will fly to UAE to take part in the T10 league.

    The wicket-keeper batsman will be available for Knights’s last two league games which will be played on November 29th and November 30th and then for the knock-out games if the team qualifies.


    Previous Article
    Next Article