GT vs CSK: Why is Dwaine Pretorius Not Playing Today’s IPL 2023 Match? Check CSK Playing 11

Updated on: Mar 31, 2023 8:12 pm IST

Dwaine Pretorius

In an important news development, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are not playing their overseas seam-bowling all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) opener against the Gujarat Titans (GT) at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The Chennai Super Kings did not enjoy the best of seasons during IPL 2022 where they witnessed a total of 4 victories and 10 losses in the league stage and finished at the ninth position on the points table. However, the four-time IPL winners will be eyeing to do well in this IPL 2023 season.

GT vs CSK: Why is Dwaine Pretorius Not Playing Today’s IPL 2023 Match?

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni mentioned that the likes of Devon Conway, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali and Mitchell Santner will be CSK’s four foreign players in this GT vs CSK match. This also means that South Africa’s pace bowling all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius will be warming the bench as Chennai Super Kings have gone ahead with just two frontline pace bowlers in Deepak Chahar and Rajvardhan Hangargekar in the CSK playing 11. While playing in his debut IPL season last year, Pretorius ended up picking 6 wickets from as many matches at an economy of 10 but bowled really well at the death. It will be interesting to see whether Ben Stokes will bowl 1 or 2 overs or not while Shivam Dube will definitely be contributing both with the bat and ball.

CSK Playing 11

1. Devon Conway 
2. Ruturaj Gaikwad
3. Moeen Ali
4. Ambati Rayudu
5. Ben Stokes
6. Ravindra Jadeja
7. MS Dhoni (C & wk)
8. Dwaine Pretorius

9. Deepak Chahar
10. Simarjeet Singh
11. Prashant Solanki

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Photo Gallery | IPL Stats

Chennai Super Kings 2023 Squad

MS Dhoni (c) Batsman/Wicket-keeper 12 Crore
Devon Conway Batsman 1 crore
Ruturaj Gaikwad Batsman 6 Crore
Ambati Rayudu Batsman/Wicket-keeper 6.75 crore
Subhranshu Senapati Batsmen 20 lakh
Moeen Ali All-Rounder 8 Crore
Shivam Dube All-Rounder 4 crore
Rajvardhan Hangargekar Bowler 1.5 crore
Dwaine Pretorius All-Rounder 50 lakh
Mitchell Santner Bowler 1.9 crore
Ravindra Jadeja All-Rounder 16 Crore
Tushar Deshpande Bowler 20 lakh
Akash Singh Bowler 20 lakh
Matheesha Pathirana Bowler 20 lakh
Simarjeet Singh Bowler 20 lakh
Deepak Chahar Bowler 14 crore
Prashant Solanki Bowler 1.2 crore
Maheesh Theekshana Bowler 70 lakh
Ajinkya Rahane Batsman 50 lakh
Ben Stokes All-Rounder 16.25 crore
Shaik Rasheed Batsman 20 lakh
Nishant Sindhu All-Rounder 60 lakh
Sisanda Magala Bowler 50 Lakh
Ajay Mandal All-Rounder 20 lakh
Bhagath Varma All-Rounder 20 lakh

Follow Indiafantasy on Google News

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article