| On Updated : Nov 24, 2020 6:12 PM IST

ICC Awards of the decade full list: Virat Kohli, Ashwin nominated

The decade is finally coming to an end and the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced a list of awards for the consistent performers of the last decade across all three formats. The decade saw some outstanding cricketing performances from several of the top international stars. All of them have found themselves in the nominations for the respective categories. The Indian captain Virat Kohli is the star attraction in the nominees as he headlines all the five categories announced in the men’s division.

Kohli, Ashwin nominated for ICC Player of the decade award

Photo: Wisden

Two of the top Indian players, Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin has been named for the ICC player of the decade award. These two will be competing with Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Joe Root, AB De Villiers, and Kumar Sangakkara for this prestigious award.

If there was one man that has symbolized the last decade, that is none other than the Indian captain Virat Kohli. With consistent performances across all formats, he made the last decade his own. And rightly so, he found himself nominated in all five categories of awards for the last decade. In the past decade, Kohli has scored over 7000 runs in Tests and has accumulated more than 11000 runs in ODIs and over 2600 runs in T20s.

All the ICC awards of the decade Nominations:

Along with the player of the decade award, ICC has introduced several other awards across formats. The likes of Kohli, AB de Villiers, Steve Smith, and Kane Williamson headlines in most of the male award categories whereas the likes of  Ellyse Perry, Suzie Bates, and Mithali Raj have headlined the women’s charts in the aforementioned period.

What has been the biggest highlight of India's tour of Australia 2020-21?

Men’s player of the decade: Virat Kohli (India) Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Joe Root (England), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Steve Smith (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka).

Women’s ODI Player of the Decade: Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Mithali Raj (India), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), and Jhulan Goswami (India).

Women’s Player of the Decade: Ellyse Perry (Australia), Meg Lanning (Australia), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Mithali Raj (India), Sarah Taylor (England).

Men’s ODI Player of the Decade: Virat Kohli (India), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Mitchell Starc (Australia), AB de Villiers, Rohit Sharma (India), MS Dhoni (India), and Kumara Sangakkara (Sri Lanka).

Men’s Test Player of the Decade: Virat Kohli (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Smith, James Anderson (England), Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka), and Yasir Shah (Pakistan).

Men’s T20I Player of the Decade: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Virat Kohli (India), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Aaron Finch (Australia), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Chris Gayle (West Indies), and Rohit Sharma (India).

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade: Virat Kohli (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), MS Dhoni (India), Anya Shrubsole (England), Katherine Brunt (England), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), and Daniel Vettori (New Zealand).

For more cricket news, click here.

Midhun M Menon @Mid_On_

An engineer who watches, plays, and writes cricket. Out here to tell you interesting stories from 22 yards from the perspective of a 22-year-old guy.