| On Updated : Dec 28, 2020 3:34 PM IST

ICC Awards Player of the Decade: COMPLETE LIST

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the individual awards for the past decade. Indian captain Virat Kohli was voted as the ‘Male Player of the Decade’ and Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry was voted as the ‘Female Player of the Decade’. The awards were chosen from a list of nominees through online voting and the results were announced today at noon.

King Kohli domination in Male ICC Awards of the Decade

One name that was predominant in all categories of ICC Awards was Virat Kohli. And rightly so, he was chosen as the ‘Male Player of the Decade’ and ‘ODI Player of the Decade’. In the Women’s category, Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry grabbed all the awards. She was named the Female ODI Player of the Decade, Female T20I Player of the Decade, and Female Cricketer of the Decade.

What has been the biggest highlight of India's tour of Australia 2020-21?

Australian batsman Steve Smith grabbed the ‘ICC Men’s Test Player of the Decade’ award for his phenomenal run in the last 10 years. As a surprise pick, Afghan leg spinner Rashid Khan grabbed the ‘T20I player of the Decade’ award despite featuring for just 3-4 years during the 10 years that is being considered.

Former Indian captain MS Dhoni grabbed the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade for his gesture to call England's Ian Bell back on to the crease after he was ruled out by the umpire in unusual circumstances in the 2011 Test series.

Kohli’s Decade of Greatness

The Decade that has passed by was truly owned by Virat Kohli. He was phenomenal across all formats during this period. He is the only player to average more than 50 across all three formats. So far, he has 43 ODI centuries and is just behind Tendulkar’s record of 49 hundreds in the format. Among these 35 centuries came in at a winning cause and 22 of them came in successful run-chases.

In the longer format too, he has 33 Test Hundreds and has been an inspirational leader for Team India ever since he took over the captaincy from MS Dhoni mid-way during the Australia series. During this period he became the only Indian captain to win a Test series in Australia in 2018-19. Moreover, he has Test hundreds in seven of the eight countries he has played in with six double hundreds in 2016 and 2017 combined. Also, it is to be noted that he was the Player of the Tournament in the 2014 and 2016 T20 World Cups. Overall in the last decade, Kohli was the personification of ‘Consistency'.

Midhun M Menon @Mid_On_

An engineer who watches, plays, and writes cricket. Out here to tell you interesting stories from 22 yards from the perspective of a 22-year-old guy.