| On Updated : Jun 26, 2018 1:35 PM IST

ICC Women’s World T20 2018: India to start their campaign against New Zealand

ICC has announced the schedule for ICC Women's World T20 2018 on Monday to be held in West Indies from November 9, 2018, to 24 November 2018.

India will start their campaign against New Zealand in Guyana in the World Cup opener. Other teams who will be playing on the opening day are Australia, Pakistan and West Indies.

The DRS (Decision Review System) would be making its debut in an ICC World T20 event and this would be for the first time when the women's tournament would be held as a stand-alone event where all the matches would be broadcasted live from Guyana, St Lucia and Antigua and Barbuda.

Also Read: Tim Paine compares Buttler with Dhoni

The tournament comprises of ten teams- Australia (three-time champions), England ( reigning ICC Women's world cup winners), New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies (defending champions) and two qualifiers would be played across three venues in the Caribbean.

The teams participating in the qualifying event are Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Thailand, Uganda, Scotland and the United Arab Emirates.

Windies skipper Stafanie Taylor said, “It is great to have an opportunity of hosting the cricket world here in the West Indies. We hope that our fans will enjoy the tournament.”

The finalists of the ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier is scheduled to be held in the Netherlands which will be played from July 7 to July 14 would be joining the top eight sides.

Shalini Singh @Shalini_Singh15

A Writer | A Reader | Above all- A Human Being constantly looking forward to pushing the envelopes!