IND, AUS declare teams for 1st Test; Bhuvi out, Harris to debut

Updated on: Dec 5, 2018 11:11 am IST

India and Australia have declared their teams for the first Test which will start from December 06th at Adelaide. India have gone ahead with seven batsmen and four bowlers and have only one spinner in the team. On the other hand, Tim Paine has opted for Peter Handscomb ahead of Mitchell Marsh which means the team will have limited bowling resources and Marcus Harris will get a Test debut.


Rohit or Vihari?

Virat Kohli’s 12-member team consists of four bowlers which means they all will feature in the playing XI and the only question to answer will be weather to choose Rohit Sharma or Hanuma Vihari.

Injury to Prithvi Shaw has paved way for Murali Vijay’s return in the team while Pujara, Kohli and Rahane will form India’s middle-order. Rishabh Pant’s presence as the wicket-keeper will enhance India’s batting order.

Rohit struggled in South Africa and was dropped for England series but he is been in terrific form in white-ball cricket. On the other hand, Hanuma Vihari has had a sensational run in domestic cricket and scored a fifty on his debut against England making a statement that he belongs to this level.

Kohli and the think tank will have a tough time to pick one of them. The fact that Vihari can bowl part-time spin can be a decisive factor in selection.


No Mitchell Marsh; Peter Handscomb returns

Interestingly, Australia have preferred Peter Handscomb for the middle-order slot over Mitchell Marsh. The team will also be playing uncapped Marcus Harris at the top of the order along with Aaron Finch.

Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc will form the pace artillery while Nathan Lyon will lead the spin department.

Also read: Australia still favourites: Rahane 

India’s and Australia’s teams for 1st Test

India’s 12-member squad:

Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wk), Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia’s playing XI:

Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Tim Paine (capt), Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article