| On Jun 14, 2021 9:12 AM IST

IND vs NZ, Test Championship Final: Possible Playing 11 of India


IND Playing 11: As we draw closer to much anticipated World Test Championship final at Southampton, both teams are in process of giving final shape to their preparations.

IND Playing 11

The Kiwis have won the test series against the hosts England while team India began preparations with intra-squad match after completing their quarantine. Let’s take a look at the possible playing XI for India for this all-important clash.

Top Order

Given how the options have fared leading in to this match, it is looking fairly straight forward for Indian team management. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will be opening the batting for India in all likelihood. Mayank Agarwal will have to wait for his chances after the heroics from Shubman Gill down under. Cheteshwar Pujara will be at No 3 position as usual.

Middle Order

Captain Virat Kohli will remain the main rock in the middle order at No 4. He would be looking to continue his good run in England after the success in the latest tour of 2018. Ajinkya Rahane has remained a curious case in recent years of test cricket. Although he has performed well at crucial junctions in overseas tests but he would like to improve on his consistency for sure. Rishabh Pant has cemented his place well and truly in international cricket while Ravindra Jadeja is touted to play as an all-rounder for India.


This is an area where India have plenty of quality choices and someone will have to be left out unfortunately. Ravichandran Ashwin is confirmed as a specialist spinner. For remaining three spots in seamers, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are looking as cemented. There is lot of talks about Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Siraj and who fits the best in terms of combination for India but Ishant Sharma is the front-runner in that space looking at his experience of playing in this country. Especially, after his impressive spell in the intra-squad match this week.

India’s Playing XI

Rohit Sharma
Shubman Gill
Cheteshwar Pujara
Virat Kohli ©
Ajinkya Rahane
Rishabh Pant
Ravindra Jadeja
Ravichandran Ashwin
Ishant Sharma
Mohammed Shami
Jasprit Bumrah

NZ Playing 11 for Test Championship Final