IND vs AUS: Why Sarfaraz Khan is not selected for India vs Australia Test Series?

Updated on: Jan 15, 2023 11:02 am IST

  • ind vs aus

    IND vs AUS: The race to the World Test Championship Final is hotting up. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia is fast approaching and it will determine who plays in the summit clash at the Oval in June 2023. Both teams have announced their squads ahead of the contest. The BCCI have thrown in some surprises in the team selection. Lets find out more:


    The player who has been treated unfairly yet again is Sarfaraz Khan. His numbers in the Ranji Trophy have been mind boggling. He averages 80.45 in First-Class Cricket, an average bettered only by Don Bradman himself. Perhaps it is his fitness that seems to weigh against him in the eyes of selectors. Cricket experts and fans have come to the 25 year-old’s aid on social media. Harsha Bhogle recently tweeted,

    Sarfaraz’s fans were infuriated in equal measure and voiced their opinions. Check out what they had to say:


    BCCI have put faith in Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav, possibly to replace Rishabh Pant’s flamboyant style in the middle order. As turning pitches are set to be employed, India will need somebody who can change the course of the game by counter-attacking. Surya, the No.1 T20 batter in the world, has been selected for his fearless approach. Kishan will also serve as backup to wicket-keeper KS Bharat who is the more accomplished gloveman.

    Meanwhile Ravindra Jadeja makes a comeback who last appeared in whites against England at Edgbaston. He is set to play in the Ranji Trophy for Saurashtra to improve match fitness. Jasprit Bumrah is not being rushed in as he recuperates from an injury. Prithvi Shaw, who scored a triple ton in the Ranji recently, also misses out but finds his name in the limited overs format versus New Zealand.

    India Full Squad vs Australia:Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, C Pujara, V Kohli, S Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

    Previous Article
    Next Article