IND vs BAN Asia Cup 2023: Why is Jasprit Bumrah not playing?

Updated on: Sep 15, 2023 2:50 pm IST

jasprit bumrah not playing

In a strategic move, the Indian cricket team has opted to make five crucial changes in their lineup for the dead rubber match against Bangladesh, just ahead of the highly anticipated Asia Cup 2023 Final. One of the notable changes includes the resting of the pace spearhead, Jasprit Bumrah.

IND vs BAN Asia Cup 2023: Why is Jasprit Bumrah not playing?

Jasprit Bumrah’s rest is a decision geared towards managing the workload of key players and ensuring their optimal performance in crucial upcoming encounters.

Rohit Sharma at Toss: We are gonna field first. It is something we haven’t done in the tournament, we haven’t done it under lights so it gives us an opportunity to bat under lights. The wicket honestly has got everything for everyone. Pacers who bend their back in the daytime have also got movement and there have been assistance for the spinners. Got to be brave and play your natural game. We got to give game time to some other guys who haven’t played. We have made five changes. Virat, Hardik, Siraj, Bumrah and Kuldeep are out. Tilak makes his debut. Shami and Prasidh also come in. Suryakumar also gets a game.

Jasprit Bumrah, renowned for his lethal pace and pinpoint accuracy, has been a linchpin of the Indian bowling attack. The decision to give him a much-needed rest underscores the team management’s focus on long-term player health and performance sustainability. It also presents an opportunity to evaluate the bench strength and alternative combinations in the bowling department.

The dead rubber match against Bangladesh serves as a platform for other talented players to step up and showcase their abilities on the international stage. It’s a testament to India’s cricketing depth and foresight in nurturing a versatile team that can adapt to various challenges and perform under diverse circumstances.

Bangladesh Playing XI

Litton Das (wk), Tanzid Hasan, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

India Playing XI

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article