| On Mar 9, 2021 1:50 PM IST

IND vs ENG T20I Squad: Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tewatia get India call-ups


IND vs ENG T20I Squad : After the ongoing four-match Test series between India and England, the two teams will lock horns in an exciting five-match T20I series starting with the first T20I on March 12 in Ahmedabad. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced a 19-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against England at home. The trio of Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia have earned their maiden call-ups to the national side.

Related: Bairstow And Archer Return For Pink Ball Test

IND vs ENG T20I Squad Announced

After an impressive performance in the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Rahul Tewatia have finally earned their opportunity with maiden call-ups in the India T20I squad for the upcoming five-match India vs England T20I series. Both Suryakumar and Ishan played an important role in Mumbai Indians’ record fifth IPL title win with an impressive tally of 480 and 516 runs respectively in the tournament. Suryakumar has also been a consistent performer in the Indian domestic circuit in the recent couple of years while Ishan played an astounding innings of 173 runs off just 94 balls earlier in the day in the Vijay Hazare Trophy game against Madhya Pradesh. Wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh pant is also back in India’s white-ball plans after his heroics with the red-ball in Australia.

Apart from Ishan and Suryakumar, Rahul Tewatia has also been handed his maiden call-up after an excellent all-round performance in IPL 2020. After recovering from his injury which he picked up just before his maiden Australian tour, Varun Chakravarthy has retained his spot alongside T Natarajan. The experienced duo of Rohit Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar has also made their returns after having missed the white-ball series Down Under while Axar Patel who picked up a brilliant five-wicket haul on his Test debut has also made a return to the Indian T20I team for the first time since 2018.

The likes of Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Kuldeep Yadav and Sanju Samson have been dropped from India’s T20I squad that toured Australia last year. On the other hand, Jasprit Bumrah has also not been included in the 19-member T20I squad and it feels that the BCCI wants to manage the workload of its specialist pacer and in his absence, the likes of Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar and Navdeep Saini will form part of the fast bowling attack.

Related: India Announce Squad For Last Two IND vs ENG Tests

IND squad for the five-match T20I series against England

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep, Shardul Thakur.

For more IND vs ENG news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.