| On Oct 31, 2021 7:11 PM IST

IND vs NZ Live: Why is Suryakumar Yadav Not Playing Today?


Suryakumar Yadav not playing IND vs NZ: In a breaking news coming in from the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, India’s middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav is not playing today against New Zealand. Team India will be back on the field after a long break in their second match in the ongoing edition of the tournament scheduled to be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Why is Suryakumar Yadav Not Playing Today?

Team India captain Virat Kohli confirmed at the toss that Suryakumar Yadav is not playing today due to lower back spasm. The Indian team have made two crucial changes in their playing 11 from the previous loss at the hands of Pakistan. The duo of Ishan Kishan and Shardul Thakur have replaced Suryakumar Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for this important match against New Zealand. Kohli also stated that Ishan will open the batting.

“We would have bowled first as well. We need a solid start and have wickets in hand to get those extra 20-25 runs are the learnings from the last game. We do have the bowling line-up to take wickets, but when you don’t have runs on the board one partnership can take the game away from you. It’s another opportunity to come out and correct the mistakes. Two changes. One forced, Surya has a lower back spasm, so Ishan Kishan will replace him and open the batting. Shardul Thakur replaces Bhuvneshwar Kumar,” said India captain Virat Kohli during the toss.

Related: Shakib Al Hasan Ruled Out of T20 World Cup 2021

India Playing 11: Ishan Kishan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah. 

Related: Chris Woakes Stunning One Handed Catch to dismiss Smith – WATCH

IND vs NZ Live

On the other hand, New Zealand have also made one change to their playing XI from the previous game against Pakistan. The Kiwis have replaced their wicket-keeper batter Tim Seifert with a right-arm fast bowler Adam Milne. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson mentioned during the toss that Devon Conway will keep the wickets in this match.

Related: Virat Kohli Shuts Down Journalist asking to drop Rohit Sharma

New Zealand Playing 11: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson(c), James Neesham, Devon Conway(w), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult.

For more IND vs NZ news, click here