IND vs SL: What is the Reason behind Rishabh Pant Dropped from India squads for India vs Sri Lanka series? Here’s the update

Updated on: Dec 28, 2022 11:12 am IST

  • IND vs SL: What is the Reason behind Rishabh Pant Dropped from India squads for India vs Sri Lanka series? Here's the update

    India have named a full strength squad barring the injuries for the ODI series against Sri Lanka. India are coming after a series defeat to Bangladesh in ODIs and they need to fix some holes in their ODI side which is extremely significant for the upcoming world cup. Indian senior men’s team don’t have an ICC trophy to their name since 2013 champions trophy in England.

    IND vs SL: Rishabh Pant struggling with a niggle

    One of India’s subtle problems in the ODI side is the lack of a genuine left hand batsman in their middle order apart from Rishabh Pant. With India decided to drop Shikhar Dhawan from the ODI side, they will be having a top 6 full of right hand batsmen with Axar Patel and Washington Sundar being the 2 left hand batsmen at #7 and #8 in the series against Sri Lanka.

    It is quite easy for an opposition to plan against a batting line-up that’s full of right hand batsmen, although the likes of Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul are very good at milking the spinners, they would need a left hand batsman to make use of shorter boundaries, if any, and also to attack the favorable matchups when it’s necessary.

    Rishabh Pant’s name was not visible in the recently announced ODI squad versus Sri Lanka. The reason for that was unknown, while there were a lot of speculations about the southpaw been dropped due to his poor T20I form for India.

    According to PTI, it has been known that, Rishabh Pant has been asked to report to NCA for knee strengthening rehabilitation. It is expected that Rishabh Pant will return for the ODI series against New Zealand which is set to happen right after the 3 match ODI series against Sri Lanka.

    India ODI squad

    Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

    Previous Article
    Next Article