India squad for 2023 World Cup: Why is Tilak Varma not playing ODI World Cup 2023?

Updated on: Sep 5, 2023 7:28 pm IST

Why Tilak Varma not playing ODI World Cup 2023

In the recent unveiling of India squad for 2023 World Cup, the promising young talent, Tilak Varma has been left out of the side.

Why is Tilak Varma not playing ODI World Cup 2023?

Tilak Varma, a young and dynamic batsman, has made a name for himself with his aggressive stroke play and adaptability to various situations. The decision to omit Varma, who has shown great promise in the shorter formats, was primarily attributed to his limited experience in ODI cricket.

In India’s T20I setup, he has contributed crucial runs in the middle order to garner interest of fans and enthusiats alike. However, the transition to ODI cricket, which demands a different level of maturity and adaptability, seemed to be the stumbling block for the young cricketer, in limited opportunities.

The Indian selection committee acknowledged Varma’s potential in Asia Cup 2023 squad, but the decision-makers were wary of entrusting such a major tournament to a player with limited exposure to the 50-over format.

The presence of experienced campaigners like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Shreyas Iyer in the batting department left little room for experimentation. The selectors, therefore, leaned towards players with a more extensive track record in ODI cricket.

At just 21 years of age, he has a long career ahead of him and ample opportunities to prove his mettle in the ODI format. While Tilak Varma’s absence may come as a disappointment to fans who have admired his performances in T20Is, it’s worth noting that his time will come in the ODI arena. The decision to focus on experience for the ODI World Cup 2023 is part of a strategic approach to maximize India’s chances of clinching the coveted title.

India squad for 2023 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article