| On 4 months ago

Injury rules out KKR pacer Anrich Nortje from IPL 2019

By Chaitanya Laxman

Kolkata Knight Riders have got a massive blow ahead of the 2019 IPL season. South African pace bowler Anrich Nortje has been ruled out of the entire IPL tournament due to an injury and this means KKR’s already thinned pace bowling department has been depleted.

The franchise hasn’t named any replacements so far for the South African pacer.

Nortje to miss IPL 2019

The young pace bowler is known for his express pace and is also plagued with frequent injuries. He has now suffered a shoulder injury which means he will miss the entire edition of the 2019 IPL.

The pacer came to the limelight when he bowled at 150 kph plus speeds consistently in the Mzansi Super League recently. This express pace bowling impressed everyone and he was rewarded with a place in South Africa’s white ball team.

Nortje has played four ODIs so far and has claimed eight wickets at an astounding average of 18.75. However he is also known for his frequent injuries.

The pacer played in only three games in the Mzansi Super League and was ruled out of the remaining games as he suffered an ankle injury.

KKR had bought the pace bowler for INR 20 lakhs in the 2019 IPL auctions.

The pace bowling woes: KKR in big trouble

The injury of Nortje leaves KKR in a big trouble as now they have very limited pace bowling options. The Indian pacers Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi have already been ruled out of the tournament due to injuries and now Nortje has joined the bandwagon.

This means the franchise has only Prasidh Kirishna, Sandeep Warrior and Shrikant Mundhe in their pace bowling department along with Lockie Ferguson and Harry Gurney as overseas pacers and the lack of an experienced pacer might create a chink in their armoury.

Also read: IPL 2019: Full schedule of league matches announced

KKR squad for IPL 2019

Dinesh Karthik (c), Robin Uthappa, Shubman Gill, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna,  Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Carlos Brathwaite, Nikhil Naik, Lockie Ferguson, Harry Gurney, Prithvi Raj Yarra, Joe Denly, Shrikant Mundhe, KC Cariappa, Sandeep Warrier.

Chaitanya Laxman