Categories: Cricket NewsIPL 2019
| On 8 months ago

IPL 2019: Jasprit Bumrah injures shoulder; Andrew Tye, Turner unavailable for RR vs KXIP

By Chaitanya Laxman

Mumbai Indians have suffered a massive blow in the ongoing IPL 2019. Their strike pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah injured his shoulder in the match against Delhi Capitals and this puts a question mark on his availability for the rest of the season.

Meanwhile Kings XI Punjab pace Andrew Tye hasn’t arrived to India yet and hence will be unavailable for the match against Rajasthan Royals.

Bumrah’s injury raises worry for Mumbai and India

The pace bowler is the strike weapon for Mumbai Indians in the IPL and is also India’s premier pace bowler for the all important World Cup.

The pacer injured himself when he tried to stop a ball in his follow through against Rishabh Pant. Bumrah was immediately taken off the field and he didn’t even come to bat in Mumbai’s innings.

An official statement for Mumbai Indians stated that, ‘Jasprit Bumrah has recovered well. We will be assessing him tomorrow as well’.

Image credits @ BCCI

Punjab to miss Tye and Turner

Meanwhile Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab are kickstarting their IPL 2019 campaign on March 25 at Jaipur.

Ashton Turner, Punjab’s middle-order batsman is in UAE playing for Australia and hence will be unavailable for the match. Also missing is their pace bowler and another Aussie Andrew Tye who is yet to arrive in India.

RR vs KXIP squads

Rajasthan Royals:

Ajinkya Rahane (c), Krishnappa Gowtham, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Aryaman Birla, S. Midhun, Prashant Chopra, Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mahipal Lomror, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Liam Livingstone, Riyan Parag, Manan Vohra, Shubham Ranjane

Kings XI Punjab:

Ravichandran Ashwin (c), KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Karun Nair, David Miller, Chris Gayle, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Nicholas Pooran, Mohammad Shami, Varun Chakravarthy, Sarfaraz Khan, Sam Curran, Arshdeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Prabsimran Singh, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin

Chaitanya Laxman

Smitten by cricket, green mountains, and written words, Chaitanya is engrossed with cricket stats and analysis. But cricket commentary is what he savors the most.