March 31, 2019
| On 4 months ago

IPL 2019: Scott Kuggeleijn replaces Ngidi, but not available for CSK vs RR

By Chaitanya Laxman

Chennai Super Kings have replaced pacer Lungi Ngidi with New Zealand seamer Scott Kuggeleijn. He will join the squad in the next week which means he will be unavailable for the match against Rajasthan Royals.

Scott Kuggeleijn replaces Ngidi

CSK coach Stephen Fleming stated that  they cannot replace David Willey who has opted out of the IPL season 12 due to personal reasons.

But for Lungi,they have been a bit more selective and it’s obviously a different level of replacement player based on price, and they have gone with Scott Kuggeleijn, who’s a New Zealand international who bowls quick and bats well.

He explained that so they have looked for an allrounder, who has good pace and good variations. and he will be joining the team next week.

The Kiwi cricketer had a decent outing in the New Zealand’s Super Smash, the domestic T20 league.  He played nine games and claimed 13 wickets but had an economy of 8.14 runs per over.

CSK’s pace bowling woes

CSK’s pace bowling unit was reliant on Lungi Ngidi who was ruled out of the tournament due to an injury while David Willey, their other option has decided not feature in IPL 2019 due to personal reasons.

This leaves CSK with Dwayne Bravo as their only overseas seam bowling option. But they do have some Indian pacers in the form of Deepak Chahar and Mohit Sharma.

Also read: CSK VS RR IPL Today Match Prediction | Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals 12th Match IPL

CSK and Rajasthan Royals squads

CSK squad:

MS Dhoni (c), Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Karn Sharma, Dhruv Shorey, N Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Faf du Plessis, Sam Billings, Mitchell Santner, Shane Watson, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Mohit Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad

Also read: SRH vs RCB IPL 2019 Preview: RCB’s batting might versus Hyderbad’s bowling prowess

RR squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (c), Krishnappa Gowtham, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Aryaman Birla, S. Midhun, Prashant Chopra, Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mahipal Lomror, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Liam Livingstone, Riyan Parag, Ashton Turner, Manan Vohra, Shubham Ranjane

Chaitanya Laxman