Categories: Cricket NewsIPL 2021
| On Dec 15, 2021 10:14 PM IST

IPL List of All Retained Players for 2021 edition


IPL 2021 Retained Players: After an outstanding Test series, its time to shift our focus to the shortest format of the game. The lucrative IPL will be back again thick and fast. As decided earlier, the IPL 2021 will happen as per the regular schedule during the April-May window. And rightly so, the franchises have already started preparations for the mega event. To start the proceedings, the teams have announced their retention list today. Many of the top players including Steve Smith, Aaron Finch and Chris Morris have been released. Unlike the previous years, the event was telecasted live this season on Star Sports 1 and Hotstar.

IPL 2021 Retained Players COMPLETE LIST

Here’s the list of retained players from each franchise:

Chennai Super Kings Retained Players 2021

CSK has denied all rumours and has made it clear that they are persisting with the veteran southpaw Suresh Raina for one more season. He had pulled out of IPL 2020, citing personal reasons after reaching UAE for the same.

“He is one of our best batsmen in the last ten years. He had to miss out last year but he is back now and we are happy with him” a franchise official said.

On the other hand, they have let go off Piyush Chawla, Kedar Jadhav, M Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Monu Kumar Singh, and Shane Watson (retired) and have retained 17 of their former players. They now have 22.9 Cr left in their purse.

Retained: MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Sam Curran, N Jagadeeshan, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood, R Sai Kishore.

Mumbai Indians Retained Players 2021

The defending champions have let go off four prominent overseas players from their squad including the likes of James Pattinson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Mcclenaghan and Lasith Malinga. Coincidently all those four are pace bowlers and hence it is almost certain that they would be targeting the likes of Mitchell Starc and Kyle Jameison in the upcoming auction. They now have 15.35 cr left and need 4 overseas players to fill in that slots.

Retained: Rohit Sharma, Surya Kumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Sourabh Tiwary, Chris Lynn, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Sherfane Rutherford, P Balwant Rai, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, Digvijay Deshmukh, Mohsin Khan, Dhawal Kulkarni,  Trent Boult, Jayant  Yadav

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained Players 2021

KKR officials have denied all rumours of them releasing their former captain Dinesh Karthik. He had a terrible season with the bat last year and had even given up captaincy mid-way through the tournament to Eoin Morgan. Despite all this, the franchise has decided to persist with him for one more season owing to his finishing abilities.

They have decided to persist with Pat Cummins as their lead pacer despite the heavy price tag of 15.5 Cr and have decided to part ways with M Siddharth, Nikhil Naik, Siddhesh Lad, Chris Green, Harry Gurney and Tom Banton. They now have 10.85 Cr left in their purse.

Retained: Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan (c), Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathi, Tom Banton, Varun Chakravarthy

Royal Challengers Bangalore Retained Players 2021

RCB have decided to part ways with many of its top international stars including Finch, Morris and Udana. They have also let go of top Indian stars like Dube, Umesh Yadav and Pawan Negi. In total they have retained 12 players including the Aussie pacer Kane Richardson and his replacement from last season- Adam Zampa. In a surprise move, they have decided to secure the services of Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams from DC in an all-cash deal.

Retained: V Kohli, AB de Villiers, D Padikkal, Y Chahal, M Siraj, K Richardson, W Sundar, P Deshpande, J Philippe, S Ahmad, N Saini, A Zampa

Traded in: Harshal Patel, Daniel Sams

Sunrisers Hyderabad Retained Players 2021

SRH has decided to let go off their overseas all-rounders Fabian Allen. Along with him the likes of Billy Stanlake, Sanjay Yadav, B Sandeep and Prithvi Raj were also shown the exit door. Apart from that they haven’t made much changes to their line-up

Retained: David Warner (c), Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha, Abdul Samad, Mitchell Marsh, Priyam Garg, Virat Singh

Delhi Capitals Retained Players 2021

The runners up of IPL 2020 have released Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Alex Carey and Jason Roy. Along with that they also traded their fast bowling all-rounders Daniel Sams and Harshal Patel to RCB in an all-cash deal. They now have 12.8 Cr left in their purse to make the remaining changes ahead of IPL 2021.

Retained: Shreyas Iyer (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Anrich Nortje

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players 2021

In a major change, Rajasthan Royals have decided to part ways with their captain Steve Smith. Their top Indian recruit Sanju Samson has been named the new captain for the upcoming season. Also, former Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara has been named the director of the cricket for the franchise for the upcoming IPL season.

“Sanju is at the start of his journey as a leader – and Kumar Sangakkara is joining as a director of cricket. He’s understated and is a very, very strong individual. Wicketkeeper is a great position to captain the team” said Badale, RR team owner.

Apart from Smith, they have let go off Ankit Rajpoot, Oshane Thomas, Akash Singh, Varun Aaron, Tom Curran, Anirudha Joshi and Shashank Singh. In total they have 17 players left in their squad and has a purse of 34.85 Cr to add remaining players from IPL 2021 auction.

Retained: Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Robin Uthappa

Kings XI Punjab Retained Players 2021

Kings XI Punjab have decided to release their big buy from IPL 2020 auction- Glenn Maxwell. Along with him, they have released Sheldon Cottrell, Jimmy Neesham, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Krishnappa Gowtham, Karun Nair and Hardus Viljoen. Now they have a whopping 53.2 CR left in their purse ahead of the IPL 2021 auction.

Retained: Rahul, Gayle, Pooran, Shami, Jordan, Mandy, Mayank, Bishnoi, Prabhsimran, Hooda, Sarfaraz, Arshdeep, M Ashwin, Nalkande, Porel & Harpreet

More updates to follow, stay tuned.

NEXT IPL 2021 Released Players COMPLETE LIST