IPL 2023 Prize Money: How much money will IPL 2023 Winner get?

Updated on: May 26, 2023 1:43 pm IST

IPL 2023 Prize Money How much money will IPL 2023 Winner get?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has emerged as one of the most prestigious and financially rewarding cricket leagues in the world since its inception in 2008. With each passing year, the IPL prize money has witnessed significant growth, making it an attractive incentive for teams to compete at their best. IPL 2023 continues its tradition of offering substantial rewards to the winners. Let’s take a closer look at the IPL 2023 prize money for winner, runner up and teams making the playoffs.

What is IPL 2023 Prize Money?

In the IPL 2023 season, the total prize pool stands at a staggering 46.5 crores. IPL 2023 Prize money for winner is Rs 20 crores, while runners-up will receive Rs 13 crores.

Additionally, the two teams that make it to the playoffs round will earn a commendable prize of Rs 7 crores each, showcasing the IPL’s commitment to rewarding excellence across the board.

Over the years, the IPL has experienced tremendous growth, with its value soaring to approximately Rs 91,000 crores in 2023. This remarkable increase can be attributed to lucrative media rights agreements and strategic partnerships that have elevated the tournament’s stature. Recognizing the growing significance of prize money in motivating teams to perform at their peak, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced plans to increase the prize money for the IPL by 20 to 25 percent.

IPL Prize Money over the years

To comprehend the growth in prize money throughout the IPL’s history, let’s examine the prize money offered in previous seasons. In the inaugural seasons of 2008 and 2009, the winning team received Rs 4.8 crores, while the runner-up was awarded Rs 2.4 crores. Subsequently, the prize money witnessed a substantial increase, with the winners earning Rs 10 crores and the runners-up receiving Rs 5 crores in the 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 seasons.

In 2014 and 2015, the IPL further escalated the prize money, with the champions securing Rs 15 crores and the runners-up bagging Rs 10 crores. From 2016 to 2019, the prize money remained consistent at Rs 20 crores for the winners and Rs 11 crores for the runners-up, demonstrating the league’s commitment to providing consistent and substantial rewards for exceptional performances.

The pandemic had a temporary impact on the prize money in 2020 when it was decreased to Rs 10 crores for the winners and Rs 6.25 crores for the runners-up. However, the IPL swiftly rebounded in 2021 by reinstating the winning prize to Rs 20 crores, despite the challenges posed by the ongoing pandemic. In 2022, the winners received Rs 20 crores, while the runners-up were awarded Rs 13 crores, once again solidifying the IPL’s reputation for offering sizable rewards to the top-performing teams.

Follow us onĀ Google News

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article