IPL Retention Live Updates: Complete List of Players Retained by 8 Teams and IPL 2022 Auction Purse

Updated on: Dec 15, 2021 5:24 pm IST

IPL Retention

IPL Retention – The news related to the next edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 has been hogging over the headlines. The next season of the tournament will be 10 teams clashing for the Trophy.

IPL 2022 Squads after Player Retention 

The preparations for the next season has already started to begin as eight existing teams have announced their list of retained players. While some were quite predicted choices, there were many surprises as well.

List of Players Retained by eight IPL Teams and IPL Auction Purse Remaining

1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) 

Chennai Super Kings have retained four players. The Men in Yellow have named skipper MS Dhoni along with premier all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and England’s superstar Moeen Ali. They also have retained the orange cap winner of IPL 2021, Ruturaj Gaikwad.

IPL Retention

Here are the four retentions of CSK

Ravindra Jadeja – 16 Crores
Ms Dhoni – 12 Crores
Moeen Ali – 8 Crores
Ruturaj Gaikwad – 6 Crores

2. Mumbai Indians (MI) 

The five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians no surprise have retained skipper Rohit Sharma along with premier pacer Jasprit Bumrah. The other two retentions are Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard.

Read Also: IPL Auction 2022 Date Revealed? Here’s the update

IPL Retention

Here are the four retentions of  MI

Rohit Sharma – 16 Crores
Jasprit Bumrah – 12 Crores
Suryakumar Yadav – 8 Crores
Kieron Pollard – 6 Crores

3. Punjab Kings (PBKS) 

Punjab Kings shocked everyone when they announced their retention list. The Punjab based franchise has only retained Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh for the IPL 2022.

IPL Retention

Here are the two retentions of PBKS

Mayank Agarwal – 14 Crores
Arshdeep Singh – 4 Crores

4. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) 

The Royal Challengers Bangalore named only three retentions for the next season of IPL 2022. Virat Kohli was no doubt the first retention with Glenn Maxwell being the second. They also surprised everyone by not retaining Yuzi Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal and Yuzvendra Chahal. Their fourth retention was Mohammad Siraj.

IPL Retention

Here are the three retentions of PBKS

Virat Kohli- 16 Crores
Glenn Maxwell – 11 Crores
Mohammad Siraj – 7 Crores

5. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 

Kolkata Knight Riders were among the franchises that retained four players. The two-time champions named the West Indian duo of Andre Russell and Sunil Narine as their two retentions. The other two players are Varun Chakravarthy and Venkatesh Iyer.

IPL Retention

Here are the four retentions of KKR

Andre Russell – 12 Crores
Varun Chakravarthy – 8 Crores
Venkatesh Iyer – 8 Crores
Sunil Narine – 6 Crores

6. Delhi Capitals (DC) 

Delhi Capitals also retained four players for the IPL 2022. There was no doubt about Rishabh Pant being the first retention. The other retentions for the Delhi based franchise are Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje.

Read Also: Which is the best team in IPL?

IPL Retention

Here are the four retentions of DC

Rishabh Pant – 16 Crores
Axar Patel – 9 Crores
Prithvi Shaw – 7.5 Crores
Anrich Nortje – 6.5 Crores

7. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Rajasthan Royals’ retention list for the IPL 2022 shocked everyone as two of their premier players Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes were not named. The winners of the inaugural edition retained Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

IPL Retention

Here are the three retentions of RR

Sanju Samson – 14 Crores
Jos Buttler – 10 Crores
Yashasvi Jaiswal – 04 Crores

8. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) 

The retention list of Sunrisers Hyderabad left many fans and pundits disappointed as premier player Rashid Khan was not retained by the franchise. The Orange Army along with skipper Williamson invested in two young players from Jammu and Kashmir in Abdul Samad and Umran Malik.

IPL Retention

Here are the three retentions of SRH

Kane Williamson – 14 Crores
Abdul Samad – 4 Crores
Umran Malik – 4 Crores 

IPL 2022 Auction – Purse remaining for each IPL team

The franchises spent a whopping amount of money for retaining their key players. Let’s take a look at how much each franchise will have going into the IPL 2022 auction.

Team Purse remaining
Punjab Kings 72 Crores
Sunrisers Hyderabad 68 Crores
Rajasthan Royals 62 Crores
Royal Challengers Bangalore 57 Crores
Chennai Super Kings 48 Crores
Kolkata Knight Riders 48 Crores
Mumbai Indians 48 Crores
Delhi Capitals 47.5 Crores

Related: IPL 2022: KL Rahul, Rashid Khan to be banned for 1 season? Here’s update

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article