Kaul in; Bumrah, Umesh, Kuldeep out for 3rd T20I against Windies

Published on: Nov 9, 2018 1:16 pm IST|Updated on: Nov 9, 2018 1:16 pm IST

With the series already in the pocket, Team India has decided to test the bench strength against Windies in the third and the final T20I. BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the final T20I and it includes pacer Siddharth Kaul while front-line bowlers Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav have been rested.


Frontline bowlers rested

So far India has enjoyed an upper hand against the visiting batsmen in the T20I series. Hence the team management has now rested the core bowling unit which comprises of Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav. In their absence, India might try left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem along with pacer Siddharth Kaul.

On the other hand, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Khaleel Ahmed have retained their spots and they add strength to the otherwise inexperienced bowling unit.


No changes in the batting department

The selectors have decided to give Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul one more chance. However, Iyer didn’t get any chance in the first two T20Is. So the team may drop one batsman from the middle order to give Iyer an opportunity.

The opening duo of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan feature in the squad as experienced players.

Krunal Pandya who impressed with his all-around skills in both games too retains his place in the squad while Washington Sundar has been retained as well.

India has won the first two T20Is while the third match of this series will be played on 11th November at Chennai. The visitors have already lost the Test and the ODI series against India in this tour.

Also read: We have plenty of match-winners: Mandhana 


India’s squad for the final T20I against Windies-

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article