Kohli’s consistency earns him yet another laurel, find out what is it?

Published on: Jun 7, 2018 2:26 pm IST|Updated on: Jun 7, 2018 2:29 pm IST

Indian skipper Virat Kohli would be receiving the Polly Umrigar award for his contribution to the game in the last couple of years at the BCCI Awards function to be held in Bangalore on June 12.

Besides Kohli, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana, whose exemplary performance came into limelight during the 2017 Women’s World Cup, would also be presented with the award for best international cricketer (women) for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons respectively.

To commemorate one of its finest administrators, the BCCI has also rechristened four awards in memory of former board President Jagmohan Dalmiya.

It will be presented to the leading run-scorer and wicket-taker in the U16 Vijay Merchant Trophy and to the best Junior and Senior Cricketer in women’s cricket.

Moreover, the BCCI has also raised the prize money for nine categories by Rs. 1 Lakh and now the revised prize money is 1.5 lakh.

Kohli’s Consistency:

Image Credit @PTI

The Indian cricket team captain performed well across all the formats in 2016 and 2017.

In 2016, he scored 1215 runs at an average of over 75 in Tests, amassed 739 runs in ODIs at an average of 92 and averaged 106 in T20 cricket.

He continued his stellar run in 2017 as well and surpassed 1000 runs yet again in Tests and scored 1460 runs in ODIs at an average of more than 76.

Mandhana and Kaur shine:

Image Credit @BCCI

Although India lost the World ┬áCup final by 9 runs against England at Lord’s, Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur shone in the tournament.

While Mandhana scored 90 and 106* against England and West Indies, Kaur scored a blazing 171* in the semi-finals against six-time champions Australia.

Her knock was the third-highest in the history of women’s World Cup and fifth highest overall. Both the cricketers became the first Indian players to feature in the Women’s Big Bash League, with both playing for Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder respectively.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article