MA Chidambaram Stadium IPL T20 records: IPL records at the Chennai’s Chepauk Ground ahead of CSK vs PBKS Match

Updated on: Apr 30, 2023 11:24 am IST

MA Chidambaram Stadium IPL T20 records

Chennai Super Kings will be back to their fortress, i.e., Chepauk to square off against Punjab Kings in match no 41 of Tata IPL 2023. The Super Kings are coming off a defeat at the hands of Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, whereas, Punjab Kings lost their last game to Lucknow Super Giants in Mohali. Both teams are looking for a win which makes this contest an intriguing one.

CSK vs PBKS Match: MA Chidambaram Stadium IPL T20 records

The CSK vs PBKS match no 41 of Tata IPL 2023 will be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. It is a day game, meaning the wicket will be dry, expect spinners to dominate the play. However, batters can score freely once they are set. Check MA Chidambaram IPL records.

Total IPL matches 70
Won Batting 1st 44
Won Batting 2nd 26
No-Result 0
Highest Total (CSK) 246/5 vs RR in 2010
Lowest Total (RCB) 70/10 vs CSK in 2019
Highest Individual Score Murli Vijay (127 Runs) vs RR in 2010
Most Runs Suresh Raina (1498 Runs) in 58 Innings
Most Wickets Ravichandran Ashwin – 46 Wickets
Best Bowling Figures KKR – Andre Russell (5/15) vs MI in 2021

At this venue, spinners have been successful in bowling with an average of 26.8 and a good economy rate of 6.9, as compared to pace bowlers who have an average of 29.4 and an economy rate of 8.0. Out of the 70 games played, teams batting first have won 44 games, while teams batting second have won 26 games. This is because the pitch at MA Chidambaram produces a lot of turn, leading teams winning the toss to prefer batting first. Additionally, CSK has won 42 out of the 58 matches played at this venue.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Cricket Match Prediction Today

Highest team totals at MA Chidambaram Stadium in IPL

Chennai Super Kings holds the record for the highest team totals at the Chepauk in IPL history. The MS Dhoni led side scored a mammoth 246 in 2010 edition against this very venue.

Team Total Opposition Year
Chennai Super Kings 246 Rajasthan Royals 2010
Rajasthan Royals 223 Chennai Super Kings 2010
Chennai Super Kings 222 Delhi Daredevils 2012
Chennai Super Kings 217 Lucknow Super Giants 2023
Rajasthan Royals 211 Chennai Super Kings 2008

Highest run getters at MA Chidambaram Stadium

Former CSK left-hander Suresh Raina is the leading run-getter at MA Chidambaram Stadium in IPL history. He has scored 1506 runs at the Chepauk followed by MS Dhoni who has 1407 runs to his name.

Batters Total runs
Suresh Raina 1506
MS Dhoni 1407
Michael Hussey 848
Faf du Plessis 553
Albie Morkel 487

Highest Wicket Takers at MA Chidambaram Stadium

Spinners have always returned with succesful outings at the Chepauk. Former CSK spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who currently plays for the RR, has 48 wickets to his name the most by any bowler at this venue.

Bowler Wickets taken
Ravichandran Ashwin 48
Dwayne Bravo 44
Albie Morkel 35
Ravindra Jadeja 21
Doug Bollinger 20

Follow us on Google News

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article