Cricket News
| On Jul 11, 2022 6:38 PM IST

Most consecutive wins as captain in Men’s International Cricket


Leading a side in any sport is a huge responsibility on the shoulders of a player. Not only does the player have to look after his own performance, he also has to make sure that he brings the best out of his teammates. More importantly, the captain needs to set an example through his leadership and outstanding performances with either bat or ball.

Most consecutive wins as captain in Men’s International Cricket

Captain Year Number of Wins
Ricky Ponting 2002-03 20
Rohit Sharma 2019-22 19
Ricky Ponting 2006-07 16

Former Australian cricketer Ricky Ponting is widely recognized among the greatest captains to ever play the game. Under the leadership of the right-handed batter, Australia dominated world cricket for almost over a decade. Hence, there is no surprise that he holds the record for most consecutive wins as a captain in Men’s International Cricket.

Ricky Ponting has several accolades to his name as the captain of Australia. The former captain led Australia to a 22-match unbeaten streak in Test cricket, stretching from September 2005 to January 2008.  In ODI cricket, Ponting has led the Aussies to 165 wins out of the 230 matches.

Ricky Ponting led Australia to 20 consecutive wins in 2002-2003, a record which is yet to be matched. Australia had a perfect World Cup campaign in South Africa, winning 11 straight games to claim their second successive title. During that period, Australia also set the record for most consecutive ODI wins (21) in men’s cricket, which was eventually ended by West Indies.

The streak started during the tri-series involving England, Sri Lanka and Australia. After losing to Sri Lanka in their fourth game, Ricky Ponting led the mighty Australians to 20 consecutive wins.

Recently, Rohit Sharma came close to matching Ricky Ponting’s record. The Indian skipper had recorded 19 consecutive wins in all competitions, with 14 wins in the shortest format of the game. However, a defeat in the final T20I against England has brought an end to yet another memorable streak.

Follow us on Google News