Categories: Cricket News
| On 10 months ago

NZ announce 14 member squad for IND T20Is; Boult rested

By Chaitanya Laxman

New Zealand has announced a 14 member squad for the T20I series against India. The Black Caps have two ucapped players in the squad while middle-order batsman Kane Williamson will lead the team.

Daryl Mitchell and Blair Tickner get awarded for strong show

The New Zealand team management has included allrounder Daryl Mitchell and pace bowler Blair Tickner in the squad.

Mithchell has impressed everyone with his aggressive batting in the domestic T20 Super Smash. He is the third highest run-scorer in the tournament and has smashed 16 sixes which is the second -most in the tournament. His strike rate of 141.20 is something to note as well.

Tickner on the other hand is the second highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 12 scalps.

Gavn Larsen, the New Zealand selector has stated that both Daryl and Blair have been rewarded for the strong form they’ve produced in domestic cricket.

Image credits @ Twitter

He noted that they’ve been there or thereabouts for most of the season and both featured in their New Zealand A short-format teams.

He explained that Daryl has shown his value with the bat and also tends to bowl at some tough times for the Northern Knights, and Blair is well-respected among his team-mates and opponents alike as someone who bowls a heavy ball at good pace.

Boult rested, Neesham out

The team management has decided to rest Trent Boult while James Neesham is sidelined from the team. Meanwhile Williamson has replaced Henry Nicholls in the squad and he will lead the team.

Also read: NZ vs IND 4th ODI: Three players to watch

NZ squad for the T20I series

The Kiwis will play three T20Is against India starting from February 06th. The hosts have already lost the five match ODI series against India.

Squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (games 1 and 2), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner (game 3)

Chaitanya Laxman

Smitten by cricket, green mountains, and written words, Chaitanya is engrossed with cricket stats and analysis. But cricket commentary is what he savors the most.