Categories: Cricket News
March 7, 2019
| On 4 months ago

Obed McCoy replaces injured Andre Russell for ENG T20Is

By Chaitanya Laxman

Windies cricket management has roped in Obed McKoy as a replacement for Andre Russell who has been ruled out of the remaining England T20I series due to a reaction he suffered after undergoing a medical procedure.

Russell ruled out of the remaining T20I series

The Windies all-rounder suffered an injury to his knee in the recent past and was making a comeback in the national team in the T20I series against England. He featured in the first T20I however ahead of the second game, the team management has announced that Russell has been ruled out of the remaining series due to an adverse reaction he had to a medical procedure done in Dubai before he flew to the Caribbean.

Image credits @ Twitter

The all-rounder has played 287 T20s and has scored 4456 runs at an average of 24.61 and a staggering strike rate of 166.57. He also has 259 wickets to his name and is known for his fielding skills as well. His absence will be a big loss for the hosts as they have already lost the first T20I.

Who is Obed McKoy?

The 22 year old pace bowler, Obed Mckoy has played only three first-class games but has impressed everyone with his sensational bowling in the CPL.

The left-arm bowler is known to bowl with good pace and also have some highly effective slower-balls in his arsenal. He made his ODI debut against India in 2018 and has played only two ODIs so far claiming four wickets.

Windies squad for the remaining T20I series

The visitors are leading the three match T20I series 1-0 after winning the first T20I. The second and the third T20I of the series will be played on 08th and 10th March respectively.

Also read: Bhuvneshwar Kumar replaces Siddarth Kaul for last 3 AUS ODIs

WI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas

Chaitanya Laxman