Categories: Cricket News
| On 1 month ago

Prithvi Shaw named in India’s ODI squad for NZ; Sanju Samson included for T20Is

BCCI announced a 16-member squad for the One-day International (ODI) series against New Zealand on Tuesday. Indian limited-overs opener Shikhar Dhawan, who was initially named in the T20 International (T20I) squad, has been ruled out of the series with a shoulder injury. Sanju Samson who was dropped from the squad after the Srilanka series has been named his replacement in the T20I side, while young sensation Prithvi Shaw has been called up to the 50-over side.

Dhawan's Injury continues

Except for Dhawan, there are no notable changes in the Indian squad from the last home assignment against Australia. Dhawan picked up his injury during the final ODI against Australia in Bengaluru. All-rounder Hardik Pandya also failed to make the cut after failing his fitness test ahead of the tour.

India's ODI squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Kedar Jadhav

A chance for Shaw to showcase his talent

After coming back from the doping ban, Prithvi Shaw had been knocking the door of Indian selectors hard. He had been in splendid form in Vijay Hazare trophy and made his case stronger with a powerful 150 against New Zealand XI in the second one-day warm-up game on Sunday. With India likely to persist with Rahul as an opener for Dhawan, it will be interesting to see if Shaw will get a game or not.

India retains its bowling core

In terms of bowling, India have retained the same pace attack. They have gone in with the four quicks Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are the two wrist-spinners in the side, while Ravindra Jadeja and Shivam Dube are the two all-rounders.

Long New Zealand test awaits India

India starts its 1-month long tour of New Zealand with a 5 match T20I series, the first of which will be played at Eden Park, Auckland on January 24.

The first two T20Is against New Zealand will be played in Auckland, while the next two matches will be played in Hamilton and Wellington respectively. Kiwi captain Kane Williamson's home ground and one of the beautiful stadium in the world, Mount Maunganui's Bay Oval stadium will host the 5th T20I on February 2.

The T20I series will be followed by three ODIs which will be held between February 5-11.

India's T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur

Midhun M Menon @MidhunMMenon25

An engineer who watches, plays and writes cricket.