ODI World Cup 2023: Predicted India Playing 11

Updated on: Dec 22, 2022 4:01 pm IST

  • Odi World cup India predicted playing 11

    The hunt for the 2023 world cup begins for India. They haven’t won an ICC trophy for 10 years now even after being one of the best sides across formats in the world. India will be wanting to give their 2 greatest ODI players ever in Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli a fitting send off with 2023 world cup.

    Lets try to predict India’s playing 11 for the 2023 world cup.

    Will India overlook Shikhar Dhawan?

    Shikhar Dhawan is easily India’s best left hand batsman in ODI cricket history. He has been discarded in tests and T20Is long ago and the southpaw is playing only the 50 overs cricket for India. He also has been the stand in skipper for India in the last 3 series in the absence of Rohit Sharma.

    The form of Shikhar Dhawan with the bat is underwhelming and his competitor Shubman Gill has eye catching ODI numbers so far.

    India also have another headache in trying to fit both Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant in the playing 11. While Shreyas Iyer has made himself an integral part of the ODI side even in a full strength side, Rishabh Pant becomes the only left hand batsman in the playing 11 assuming India drop Shikhar Dhawan from the squad. There is just one place in the playing 11 for which both Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant will be fighting for if India take the conventional route.

    The other way to fit both Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant in the XI is to pair Virat Kohli with Rohit Sharma at the top and play Shreyas Iyer at 3 and Rishabh Pant at 4. This option looks unlikely at the moment.

    India will also have to decide on the 3rd pacer’s spot. Axar Patel and Washington Sundar are strong contenders for the #8 spot but 3 spinners in the playing 11 can backfire if dew plays a part in the game.

    ODI World cup 2023: India playing 11

    1. Rohit Sharma
    2. Shubman Gill
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Rishabh Pant/Shreyas Iyer
    5. KL Rahul
    6. Hardik Pandya
    7. Ravindra Jadeja
    8. Washington Sundar/Axar Patel/Deepak Chahar
    9. Jasprit Bumrah
    10. Mohammad Shami
    11. Yuzvendra Chahal

    Previous Article
    Next Article