ODI World Cup Winning Captain from 1975 to 2023

Updated on: Nov 20, 2023 1:07 pm IST

ODI World Cup Winning Teams

The captains who led their teams through the highs and lows of the four-year wait for the ICC Cricket World Cup are the ones who, while staying calm, contribute to the team’s success, making their character and finesse stand out from the other players, marking their names in the pages of history. A captain’s role in ODIs requires more than strategic ability, it demands leadership, dedication, and the ability to make critical decisions under pressure.

ODI World Cup Winning Captain from 1975 to 2023

Year Winning Captain Wins/Losses
1975 Clive Lloyd 4/0
1979 Clive Lloyd 4/0
1983 Kapil Dev 5/2
1987 Allan Border 7/1
1992 Imran Khan 6/3
1996 Arjuna Ranatunga 6/2
1999 Steve Waugh 8/1
2003 Ricky Ponting 11/0
2007 Ricky Ponting 11/0
2011 MS Dhoni 7/2
2015 Michael Clarke 7/1
2019 Eoin Morgan 8/3
2023 Pat Cummins 7/2

Pat Cummins led Australia to their record sixth title, cementing their place in history in ODI World Cup 2023. After the ball-tampering scandal involving Steve Smith, Cummins took over as captain and has had an outstanding time so far. He led his team to success in both the World Test Cricket Championship 2023 and the World Cup 2023.

Cricket, frequently said to be a gentleman’s game, is about more than just the players on the field of play, it is also about the leaders who know their worth despite the game’s ups and downs. Ricky Ponting and Clive Lloyd Cassel have a special place in history, not only for their individual talents but also for their outstanding leadership in leading their respective teams to two World Cups.

Clive Lloyd left a legacy that is still felt today. Lloyd led the West Indies to back-to-back World Cup titles in 1975 and 1979, and another great leader was great Ricky Ponting. He led the Australian cricket team to consecutive World Cup trophies in 2003 and 2007, joining an elite group of captains who achieved this astounding achievement.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article