Categories: Cricket News
| On 3 weeks ago

OUT or NOT: Watch Matthew Wade’s controversial dismissal that left fans unhappy

Fielding has gone notch above after every T20 season around the globe. Fielders are finding new ways to get hold of the inside the ropes. Another such incident took place at the Gabba today.

Out or Not out?

Matthew Wade was hitting the ball sweetly in a BBL game against Brisbane Heat. Hurricane‘s Wade hit one of Ben Cutting's delivery high and long to the mid-wicket boundary. Matt Renshaw was under it and took it on the first attempt and tried to throw it back in the field. He failed and the ball was still in the air outside, he then jumped and passed it on to his teammate Tom Banton who was standing inside the play. Renshaw's feet were in the air while he touched the ball. Tom Banton took the catch and umpire sent it upstairs.

Third Umpire took his time, but…

When replays were being played on live television, the third umpire was not convinced about the catch. Replays were shown from various angle and long delay made the confusion even more clear. In the end, the third umpire reversed it and declared it as OUT.

Fans furious over decision

What is in the Law?

Now many cricket fanatics want to know what exactly is there in the rulebook about these type of situations.

MCC rulebook states:

19.4 Ball grounded beyond the boundary

19.4.1 The ball in play is grounded beyond the boundary if it touches – the boundary or any part of an object used to mark the boundary; – the ground beyond the boundary; – any object that is grounded beyond the boundary.

(To get exclusive tips related to your fantasy team, enter your name and phone number below)



Loading Please Wait..

Dharmik Sankhavara @dhaarmik

Always prefers Banter Into Batsman's ears from Gully rather than Silly Point!