October 11, 2018
| On 8 months ago

Pant comes back, this player dropped: India’s ODI squad announced

By Chaitanya Laxman

BCCI has announced the 14 member squad for the first two ODIs against Windies. Young wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant has been recalled into the team while Dinesh Karthik has been axed. Virat Kohli will lead the team while Rohit Sharma returns to the role of vice-captaincy. The selectors have made some other interesting decisions  as well.

Pant recalled, Karthik dropped

Rishabh Pant followed up his maiden Test century in England with a 84-ball 92 run knock against Windies. Although his glovework has come under the scanner, his power-hitting ability has impressed the selectors and has earned him a place in India’s ODI squad.

However MS Dhoni also features in the team. So it will be interesting to see how the team management uses Pant.

Image credits @ Getty

Dinesh Karthik got starts in few innings in Asia cup but he failed to score any significant knock. This performance has cost him his place in the squad while Ambati Rayadu and Manish Pandey are successful in retaining his spot.

Ravindra Jadeja retains his spot

After spending around a year away from the ODI team, Ravindra Jadeja made a comeback in the team in the Asia cup and made effective contributions. He also scored his maiden Test hundred against Windies in the first Test. The team management has retained him in the squad along with Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal as the spin bowling options.

No Bhuvi and Bumrah in the team

Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar who were rested for the Test series against Windies are not included in the ODI team. It seems that the team management wants to keep the front-line pacers fresh for the all important Australia tour.

Also read: India’s bowling coach calls this player ‘long-term’ prospect.

In their absence, Mohammad Shami, Shardul Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed will spearhead India’s pace bowling department. Khaleel was given limited opportunities in Asia cup and the management may want to offer him a few more chances.

India’s squad for the first two ODI’s- Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan,KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk),Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, and Khaleel Ahmed.

Chaitanya Laxman